Christmas in November

22 Nov

Posted 15 November 2007

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary yesterday. Counting the years we’ve known each other in childhood, the years we became best friends in high school and college, the years we were officially together as a couple, and the years we’ve been married, we’re a year past our “silver” anniversary. Not bad for best friends, really.

We celebrate many anniversaries. The first time he said “I love you.” (January) ♥

The first time I said “I love you.” (February) ♥

The first time we held hands. (March)♥

The first time we kissed. (May) ♥ 

The first time we got married. (September)♥

The second time we got married. (November)♥

Name it, we remember it! When I think about how we find a cause to celebrate almost every day of our lives together, I cannot help but be grateful for this sweet, loving, faithful man.

And to sweeten the icing, he gives me the best gifts ever!

I don’t mean to focus on material gifts alone, although he is an expert when it comes to things I need or want. He can almost sense them intuitively, even when I just need the most basic things like underwear  or lingerie (imagine a grown man buying his wife plus-size underwear and you know he’s one secure individual). More than this, however, he delights in buying me gadgets: cellular phones (this year’s gifts, see picture), digital planners, laptops, gaming consoles (Nintendo DS, PSP, Wii). Gadget geeks, we truly are.

Christmas In November

And while I treasure each and every gift he gives me, the best gifts I remember are those that involve little money and just a lot of love. Like the time he serenaded me with Josh Groban’s You’re Still You at six in the morning. Or the time he sang and recorded my favorite songs in a crowded recording kiosk at the mall, at the risk of humiliating himself in front of everyone listening. Still, one of the best gifts he has ever given me (and he has given me a LOT!) was a song, written in the beginning of our relationship.

Please don’t doubt you’re beautiful/ There’s springtime in your eyes/ Your every touch a poet’s line/ With love in every smile…

He sees my beauty, even when I am at my ugliest. He loves me, even with all my imperfections, flaws, and shortcomings.

With a friend, lover, and husband like him, who says you can’t have Christmas in November? 

Leave a Reply

