Giving Thanks

22 Nov

 kittythanks-copy.jpg

“Let us rise up and be thankful, for if we didn’t learn a lot today, at least we learned a little, and if we didn’t learn a little, at least we didn’t get sick, and if we got sick, at least we didn’t die; so, let us all be thankful.” – Buddha

Things To Be Grateful For

… for spoken I love you’s

My husband says “I love you” and means it every time. He whispers “I love you” in my ear in the early mornings, texts me to remind me that he does, and ends all his phone calls to me with it. It is also the last thing I hear from him every night. (This, after 17 years of marriage!)

… for a son’s normal growth and maturity

My eldest son is a strapping young man of fourteen and he no longer holds my apron strings for comfort. It’s hard to let go of the image of my once-little boy with the Mickey Mouse voice. In my mind’s eye, he has barely aged since eight, so when I look at him, a few years short of being a man, I am always in awe of who he is today. 

… for my autistic son’s achievements

When Alphonse was asked today “Where is Mama?” he looked at me, smiled, and pointed a quivering finger at me. This may seem trivial to many, but to me, this is the pot of gold at the end of a rainbow.

… for my home,

messy and filled with clutter, (I really should get back to cleaning) but also filled with the sounds of life.

… for family and all that they bring into our lives

Thank you, Mom, Dad, and Daddy (my father-in-law) for your love and support. And Mommy F, I know you’re happy in heaven now, but I still miss you. To Jas and Joe, the crabby Darla’s of my life, my sisters and friends, thank you.

… for friends, old and new ones: 

my best-est friend in the whole wide world Anthony, my friends Cocok, Cynthia, Gaylie, Ondine, Leirs, Cris, Emi, Sally, Risa, Joville, Cecille,  and Carina

.… for God who remains merciful and loving always

I receive these with an open and grateful heart always.

One Response to “Giving Thanks”

  1. leira November 23, 2007 at 10:51 pm #

    awwww…. im touched.. im also grateful for the friendship..

    Thanks for dropping by, Leirs! The seas do separate us, but for kindred hearts, they are but a drop of water. ~ Kittymama

Leave a Reply

