Crossing the Game Divide

6 Dec

Animal Crossing Screen Shots- Kitty in Dogtowne 

I got my pink Nintendo DS Lite last year as an anniversary present. Bundled with the handheld console were games that my husband chose for me, among them Nintendogs and Animal Crossing Wild World. And just like my sleepless nights with my Sony PSP (black at first) a few months before that (I got the pink one for Valentine’s Day this year), the DS Lite became a new and consuming passion.

On Christmas Day last year, my eldest son got his own DS Lite, and soon after, on New Year’s Day, my husband got one for himself too. When summer vacation rolled by, it was time to test the wireless multiplayer ability of the DS Lite. When we were feeling frisky and playful, we played against each other in Mario Kart races that lasted for hours. (Alex always chose Bowser, his parents were always versions of Yoshi in different race karts.) Yet on some nights, as we played quietly together, we would visit each other in the Animal Crossing community I created, Dogtowne. There, I was Kitty, Alex was Alpha, and Papa was, well, the unimaginatively named, hmmm, Papa. We would trade fruits, give gifts, help dig fossils, visit friends, write letters, hit rocks, catch insects, plant trees– name it, we did it in our virtual world. Somehow, I could sense that Alex was happiest on those nights, when in our make-believe world, he was the sole center of our existence if only for a short time.

And this got me thinking last night, while reading through the Happy Blog. I wanted to share with you a story which was featured last month on the Happy Blog, but which was originally from a 2005 entry of a Korean weblog called Loliel the Black Onion Brigade. Here is the comic strip  from the Happy Blog but I’m also including links to the videos from Gametrailers.com and YouTube.

Animal Crossing — Touching Story

Last night, I returned to Dogtowne after a few months of absence. My gardens are all gone. The whole town is full of weeds and moss. The neighbors I left are gone, replaced by new faces. Some of them left me letters to say goodbye; others just disappeared, perhaps tired of waiting for me to show up. My house has cockroaches infesting all floors and I ran like crazy stomping them out. The town I knew is gone. And with it, the memories of a short-lived summer, when Papa, Kitty, and Alpha ran and frolicked and played under the Dogtowne sky.

7 Responses to “Crossing the Game Divide”

  1. TeacherJulie December 6, 2007 at 8:23 am #

    I am not a gamer but this one seems interesting. My, I was teary-eyed with the story.

    Kaw ha, KittyMama, you always make me cry. 🙂

    Thanks, T. Julie! It really is a beautiful story and it reached out to me in such a personal manner, too. We’re a “gaming” family and this spoke volumes of how parents and children communicate and relate with each other in this day and age. You know the adage “The family that prays together, stays together;” these days, it’s been tweaked a bit to “The family that prays and plays together, stays together.” 🙂 ~Kittymama

  2. megamomph December 9, 2007 at 3:37 am #

    KittyMama, you were always an outstanding writer, editor of our high school paper. 🙂 This is so well written, parang I want to play games too! I really should, with my young kids, instead of getting caught up in corporate ek-ek-ek…
    Thanks for the push.
    I have a tag for you pala, please visit my blog here:
    http://megamomph.wordpress.com/2007/12/09/corporal-punishment-my-take/

  3. TeacherJulie December 10, 2007 at 11:21 pm #

    KittyMama, I tagged you:

    http://teacherjulie.com/2007/12/11/7-things-about-me/

    Thanks 🙂

  4. daisy dolores October 14, 2010 at 1:43 am #

    hello, kitty. i don’t knwo what to say. im speachless. im really sorry for your painful experience. anywa,. i love the game. i play it on the wii and on the ds. maybe you already know about the possibility to play through nintendo wi-fi. maybe it will be fun to play once together. i will give you my friendcode and you can give yours if you send me an e-mail.

    thanks and bye

    daisy

    p.s. (the e-mail adress was my brother his but he doesn’t use it any more so i could have it.)

    • daisy dolores October 14, 2010 at 1:51 am #

      it is an outstanding story. everybody should read it.

      • Kittymama October 14, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

        Thank you. It remains one of my favorites, ever.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crazy Over AC* | Okasaneko Chronicles - June 25, 2013

    […] Our names are derived from the old Dogtowne of our Animal Crossing: Wild World Days (link to post here).  See how imaginative A♥ […]

Leave a Reply

