A Quick Peek Into My “Accidental” Life

13 Dec

This is my response to Teacher Julie’s tag on Seven Things About Me.  

1.  As a child, I was enamored with the idea of being a physician in service of others.  As an adult, I chose life as a 24/7 stay-at-home mom, a full time Inang Yaya, if you please (mommy and nanny in an all-in-one! new-and-improved! convenient packaging) in service of a much smaller community of men: my family. No regrets there.

Kittymama transformation

2. Writing has always been a lifelong passion but I stumbled into it as a serious vocation only when BusinessWorld (yes, the business paper, where a newspaper is a public trust) launched its first ezine called Outpost. I’ve been writing in ezines since 1998; I received the privilege of writing for the arts and leisure pages of BW in 2005.

3.  I became a teacher when special schools in the city turned down my son. With nowhere to go and no hope in sight, I assumed the role of teacher/motivator/advocate for my son with autism. Today, we have a homeschooling program run by professionals, but I still teach my son. These are the moments I look forward to in a day.

Teacher Kittymama

4.   Growing up, my best friends were always boys. I went to Maryknoll (now Miriam College) for grade school, and aside from the only girl who befriended me there, my best friend was a boy from neighboring Ateneo de Manila. Even when I left Maryknoll to attend a different high school (where Megamom was my classmate), he remained my best friend for many years. 

miss J stillSadly, he passed away in a tragic car accident in 1984, a few months short of high school graduation. He would have graduated valedictorian of Ateneo High School Batch 1985. Sigh. I miss him still.

5. happy in love My best-est friend in high school was also a boy. I married him. Given another chance at life, I’d still marry him. In a heartbeat.

6.  The Abominable Snowman  Now that Megamom has opened that sticky can of worms codenamed The Abominable Snowman, it is safe to disclose that Megamom and I were “involved” with the same boy in high school (not A). Una siya, me next, then back to her, then to me. (Loose translation: First it was her, then it was my turn, then he went back to her, and then back to me.) He was obviously a very confused soul. 

Those were probably some of the most foolish years of my life. (Remind me to share a story I wrote called “Surviving Mr. Wrong.”) Still, I don’t regret any of those stupid, stupid years. Allow me to quote Barbra Streisand’s song “On My Way To You” as I think of those years in this perspective,

If I had changed a single day/what went amiss or went astray/ I may have never found my way to you/I would not change a thing  that happened/on my way to you.”

I found my way to A, alright.

7. I have had weight issues since I was a little girl. I was lightest at birth (I weighed as much as three apples, oops, my mistake, that’s hello kitty’s weight! I was 7.3 lbs when I came beaming into this world.) and apparently, I have not looked back since. I was heaviest when I was pregnant with Alphonse (seven months of complete bed rest + unrestrained eating = Jabba the Hutt) when I tipped the scales at over 250 lbs. (I can’t tell you exactly how much because I couldn’t see the scale anymore.) Now my weight hovers somewhere between the two. Don’t guess. Hehe. It’s all in the face, dahling.

hello kitty fat meter

Current weight: JUST RIGHT

8.  confused and dizzy I started blogging as therapy after Alphonse’s last major meltdown. This keeps me sane.

I went beyond the prescribed seven, Teacher Julie; I hope you don’t mind. I would’ve added more but let me whet your tastebuds for more “indecent” revelations (don’t I wish my life was that colorful!) of an otherwise zany, crazy, joyful life. Thanks for tagging me!

5 Responses to “A Quick Peek Into My “Accidental” Life”

  1. TeacherJulie December 13, 2007 at 5:30 am #

    1. Being an inang-yaya is really remarkable. You could have worked fulltime as a doctor, earned a lot and get the services of the best therapists in town. But you didn’t. Aba, dapat me monumento ka na!

    2. Writing is your lifelong passion? You were born to be one!

    3. Homeschooling is best depending upon the situation. Sometimes, children learn best with TLC.

    4. A boy as a girl’s best friend? What more could you ask for? At least no chismis to fight about 🙂

    5. Of course, hubby is still the best friend.

    6. So, you and MegaMom were not just classmates. So whatever happened to the guy?

    7. Weight problems? You’re not alone! 🙂

    Thanks for doing the tag. Glad to know more about you.

    HI, Teacher Julie!

    Just to answer sticky question number 6: I lost track of him many years ago. The last time he tried to “win” me over (after the second break-up), A and I were already an item. Needless to say, he was shocked to find out about A (they were friends). It wouldn’t have mattered anyway because by that time, I was already smart enough to know that I deserved someone better.
    Last I heard, he’s in the US, happily married (and I do wish him the best) with kids.

    Hope I didn’t make you cry this time.

    ♥Kittymama

  2. TeacherJulie December 14, 2007 at 12:33 am #

    No, no tears this time, just smiles, lots of it 🙂

  3. megamomph December 17, 2007 at 2:55 pm #

    Hehehe, KittyMama. I really hope to God he doesn’t get to read this. Frankly, nakalimutan ko na lahat (repressing unfavorable memories?? :)). We all just grew up and moved on, right?
    Love the codename. Bery bery punny, ha! (pun intended)

    I knew you’d get it!!! It even looks a little like him! (A wanted me to photoshop it with some metal bling-blings, but I didn’t want to have too much fun. Hehehe!)

    Yes, we grew up and moved on. Life in high school is light years removed from real life, and while I miss our youth, I wouldn’t exchange it for what we have now. ~♥Kittymama

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Okasaneko » Blog Archive » Operation Tag: ME - January 24, 2008

    […] Fragile What? tagged me. I’ve done this one before; it was actually my very first tag (read here). However, since seven things are usually not enough to get to know a person, I’ll add a […]

  2. Operation Tag: ME « Okasaneko Chronicles - January 24, 2008

    […] Fragile What? tagged me. I’ve done this one before; it was actually my very first tag (read here). However, since seven things are usually not enough to get to know a person, I’ll add a […]

Leave a Reply

