The Sandman

10 Jan

Zzzzzzzzs 

Alphonse woke up unusually early this morning. At a little past five, he was rubbing his eyes off of sleep and raring to go out and play. I kept him with me till around seven; we watched a little television, chatted a bit (well, I talked; he merely smiled and nodded occasionally), and cuddled in my fleece blanket. When he got his PECS card for “play,” I knew I had to give in to his polite requests before a meltdown ensued. I called his nanny for reinforcement while I downed a cup of the blackest coffee I could tolerate. At seven, I was still bleary eyed and unfit to face the world.

Blame the late nights I keep. Most of the time, I get started on housework or personal stuff after he turns in for the  night (which on really good nights is no later than half past nine). On occasion, however, when he’s had a really exciting day, he finds it hard to calm down and sleep. Three nights ago, he was up till midnight, setting my own clock later than usual. And today, he was up before the sun was!

We’ve never had a lot of problems with his sleep, unlike many parents of children with autism.  A friend whose son is also on the autism spectrum complains that her son survives on three to four hours of sleep every night. And because both our kids tend to wander when awake, she’s up with him till he catches those few hours of Zzzs.  To our good fortune, Alphonse has always been a good sleeper because his body clock is so regimented. He turns in relatively early every night and puts in a good 10 to 12 hours of sleep – like clockwork. I get to do more when he’s asleep so I tend to stay up late and try to finish whatever needs to be done. And while I do get things accomplished in those hours, it throws my body clock off-kilter. Then, I have to deal with insomnia, which, of course, I battle with a lot of late-night reading. Oh, I hope that last night’s interrupted sleep is not a portent of things to come. (Cross your fingers!) 

It’s quite ironic that I write about sleep today, when I was reading Neil Gaiman’s “The Sandman (volumes 1 and 2)” till I dozed off really late last night. (I’m not a big graphic novels fan but my husband is. Me thinks he’s trying to turn me on the craze by introducing me to those he knows I’d enjoy, like “30 Days of Night” and “The Sandman.”) With my bad eyesight, it’s hard enough to make out the words written in small print, much more look at all the swirly colors and fine details. But the storyline is really good and I am almost ready to forgive my husband for his indulgence in pricey “komiks” (I can almost hear him say “Graphic novels, honey, not comic books”). I am actually looking forward to the rest of the series tonight when he comes home.

Till then, I think I’ll make good on “The Sandman” and catch a few more real Zzzs.

Zzzzzzzzzz. *Snork*. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz…    

One Response to “The Sandman”

  1. leira January 14, 2008 at 3:28 am #

    i can totally relate.. a few months ago Joshwa goes to bed early pero ever since I had to stay in the hospital kasi akala ko manganganak ako nang mas maaga. ayun na di na pinapatulog nang maaga ayun na the earliest bed time is 10pm eh he has to wake up at 6am the next day kaya ayun bed time is always the hardest part for us kasi andun ang drama namin.. pag pinabayaan mo naman at di pinilit we will surely get a “love”letter from the teacher kasi he will sleep in class.

    I’m always sleepy these days since Alphonse won’t sleep early. I hope he gets out of the sleeping funk soon. *Yawn*

Leave a Reply

