Bathing with Nuggets

11 Jan

I was in hurry to take a bath last night. I’d forgotten that A and I had a date to pick up some items from the store. I was writing an article when he called to say that he’d be home in less than 20 minutes. And was I ready?

I jumped from the bed, grabbed my towels, and made for the bath. I tossed my eyeglasses on the sink counter while my other hand made a lather with the shampoo. Between my poor eyesight and the bubbles in my hair, I could hardly see anything. I dunked my head in the tub of water a few times. On the last dunk, I caught something in my mouth.

It was squishy, mushy, and soaking wet. It crumbled in my lips and my tongue made an instinctive motion to flick it off, revulsion rising in my throat. As I cleared my eyes of shampoo, I saw it… them… lying at the bottom of the tub.

Nuggets.

Chicken nuggets.

Or more precisely, Alphonse’s chicken nuggets.

My revulsion turned to laughter.

Bathing with nuggets

I pieced together the mystery of the Bath Nuggets later. Apparently, Alphonse threw, or rather “buried,” his uneaten nuggets in the tub of water as he tried to evade his nanny’s repeated attempts to have him finish his snack. Teacher J had been leaving big portions of Alphonse’s morning snacks untouched and Alphonse was feeling the pressure to finish them off. Alphonse has a quirk when it comes to food: he cannot stand seeing leftovers; either he finishes them all (even the garnishings) or he throws them away. Anything for a clean container.

After his morning class, he quickly and deftly eluded his “surveillance team” (aka nanny), apparently made a quick dash to bathroom, and went back to his nanny a few seconds after she noticed he was missing from her side. He was also sporting a big grin. Nanny, sensing that Alphonse did or was going to do mischief, asked him: “Have you been a bad boy?”

He shook his head to say No, and laughed out loud.

Oh, well. If I had known the nuggets were there, I would have added some barbecue sauce. 🙂

~o~

I took Alphonse aside after the incident and tried to explain that what he did was wrong. This was our conversation.

Kittymama: Alphonse, please do not throw food into the bath water. Do you understand Mama?

Alphonse nods his head to say Yes.

Kittymama: Are you a bad boy?

He shakes his head to say No.

Kittymama: Will you throw food in the bath water again?

Alphonse pauses, thinks for a while, smiles sweetly, and nods Yes.

Kids.  Gotta love them.

5 Responses to “Bathing with Nuggets”

  1. megamomph January 12, 2008 at 1:11 am #

    hahahahha (ROTFL!)… i had the same conversation with Ethan about his haircut. 🙂

  2. hfamom January 12, 2008 at 2:06 pm #

    I’ve never bathed with nuggets but– don’t ya love the impredictability of it?

  3. FXSmom January 12, 2008 at 7:57 pm #

    lmao…that is hilarious!!!

  4. leira January 14, 2008 at 3:20 am #

    it is soo funny… yes indeed gotta love kids..specially ours really makes their mischiefs more amusing..

  5. okasaneko January 14, 2008 at 5:51 am #

    The Choco-dile’s haircut, Josh’s SSpatos, and Alphonse’s bath nuggets… what will they think of next? 🙂

    ~♥Kittymama

Leave a Reply

