Till the next year…

17 Jan

 Pack away the holidays

The last of the holiday decorations are down, packed in bubble wraps and stored in boxes. I’ve been delaying this temporary farewell for days and I really wish I could delay it much longer. The house seems less warm and less elegant without holiday decorations. All of a sudden, there seems to be too much room to move in.

But with the halfway mark of January staring me in the face, the impetus to dismantle, clean up, and organize for the New Year goads at me. I spent the better half of yesterday and the day before that putting down the tree and lights, wrapping ornaments, and making an inventory of decorations. Just a short month ago, it seemed like such a joy to unwrap and behold these same ornaments; today, I feel like I’m putting my memories in a box.

I don’t like farewells. Even temporary ones.

One Response to “Till the next year…”

  1. leira January 19, 2008 at 5:20 am #

    ganyan naman talaga di ba.. we always have something to look forward to next year…

Leave a Reply

