Operation Tag: ME

24 Jan

My new friend Beth (FSXMom) of Fragile What? tagged me. I’ve done this one before; it was actually my very first tag (read here). However, since seven things are usually not enough to get to know a person, I’ll add a little more.

First, here are the rules:
– Link to the person that tagged you and post the rules on your blog.
– Share 7 random and or weird things about yourself.
– Tag 7 random people at the end of your post and include links to their blogs.
– Let each person know that they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

1. I have an unusual sensitivity to paranormal experiences. (See previous post entitled Dreaming of Souls to fully understand.) I don’t want it.

2.  Because of weird fact number one, I used to sleep with the lights on all night. I learned to sleep without the lights only when Alphonse was a baby. I became aware of a published study which found a correlation between eye problems (myopia) and sleeping with the light on as an infant. It was a lightbulb moment because Alex was nearsighted even as a toddler.

3. photographic memory? I also had what they called an eidetic memory (also quite inaccurately known as photographic memory) when I was very young. I loved books even as a little girl, and I remember reading them once, then looking at each page in its totality. I would pore over each page lovingly and for some reason, the image would be imprinted in my mind. I would retrieve memory by literally turning pages in my mind. I thought everyone did it the same way. (Education experts from an old university who tested me found my memory to be very visual. To date, I still learn faster when I see things before me.)

I used this a lot in my studies but as I grew older, sometimes the picture became fuzzy and unclear. Some days I could do it with ease; other days, my mind was cloudy and I couldn’t grasp at the picture with clarity. The last time I was able to summon this skill, it was purely by accident. I was cramming for a neuroscience exam in senior year in medical school and I devoured pages and pages of books. When I took the test that day, I could suddenly recall again the pages where the answers to the questions appeared in the textbooks. I finished the exam in a short time, confident that I did well.

4.  My husband was my eighth and last (and best and kindest) boyfriend.

I had my first boyfriend at age thirteen. Makes one wonder how I even reached college, eh?

My shortest relationship was a short-lived 24 hours; I changed my mind the very next day. My longest relationship has lasted 26 years (5 years as best friends, 4 years as boyfriend-girlfriend, and almost 17 years of marriage).

My most cruel moment in a relationship was when I broke up with this very kind young man who asked “Is it because of another boy?” I chose to be flippant and smugly answered “It’s because of another girl.” (No, I do not swing the other way, so that was meant to be an emasculating remark.) I regret that unkindness to this day.

My craziest relationship was with the Abominable Snowman (again, please see previous post on this subject here). He dumped me twice.

5.  A and I got married twice, once in civil rites officiated by a judge, the other in church. wedding rings When the priest asked for the rings, A and I shared a secret smile. His was the smaller ring. 🙂

6.  colored lenses I am severely myopic. At one point in my life, my eyesight was so bad that my eyeglasses were half-an-inch thick. I started using contact lenses when I turned twelve.  To this day, I wear contacts and my favorite indulgence is a pair of hazel colored ones.

7. I was meant to have six children, but four were born in heaven. Two didn’t make it through the first trimester. One survived till near the fifth month mark and this angel was the hardest to say goodbye to. (Alex chose names like Jackie Chan or Chow Yun Fat.) The last one was a tubal pregnancy that miscarried in my abdomen before I even knew I was pregnant. (Do I dream about my would-have-been-kids? I did, just once, two years after the very first miscarriage. He said his name was Elwyn. It was a strange name, but I think God chose it for him.)  

So there you have it, seven more things about me. Some of them are weird. (If you read my last post, you’d really think me borderline strange, and I wouldn’t blame you at all.) Yet all of them are honest.

Thus, I tag Leira– because we’re fast friends but we have yet to meet;

Ms. Dine Racoma of The D Spot– because she’s a mother of seven and she still fits in her wedding dress! Maybe she can tell me how she has managed to remain a Sexy Mom all these years;

Ms. Connie Veneracion of The Mommy Journals– because she loves books about history as I do and I would love to find out more;

Pinay Megamom– because we share more than just a history with the Abominable Snowman and it’s great to find a friend after all these years;

KT Sanctuary– because she rarely posts about herself and I am curious to know who she is and what other things we might have in common other than Hello Kitty;

Angie– because she’s a lot cooler than I was at age thirteen;

Ms. Susan Senator– because she’s a woman of distinctive character and a fierce advocate for her son with autism (ehrm, but does she even do tags? Guess we’ll all find out!)

7 Responses to “Operation Tag: ME”

  1. leira January 24, 2008 at 2:36 pm #

    thanks for the tag.. will do it..

  2. megamomph January 24, 2008 at 3:40 pm #

    Learn more new things about you every time I drop by, KittyMama. Thanks for the tag. will take care of it, soon, I hope. 🙂

  3. Kittymama January 24, 2008 at 4:02 pm #

    Just logged on to find that Leirs has done hers. OMG! That has got to be a record ever! Thanks, Leirs!

    And Megamom, thank you for saying yes. I don’t mind waiting. 🙂

    ~♥Kittymama

  4. megamomph January 26, 2008 at 4:13 pm #

    KittyMama, still working on my response to your tag, but in the meantime, I too have tagged you (again). Hehehe…
    http://megamomph.wordpress.com/2008/01/26/new-year-traditions/
    It’s good to know we have each other to count on for these tags. 🙂

    I know I shouldn’t have said I loved tags! Me and my big mouth! Haha! Just kidding! 🙂 I’ll do the tag a few days before Chinese New Year, MegaMom. I have some feng shui readings to catch up on first. Xie xie! ~♥Kittymama

  5. MegaMom January 27, 2008 at 12:54 pm #

    I’ve done the tag! Hey I’m catching up on my klog…
    http://megamomph.wordpress.com/2008/01/27/deconstructing-megamom/
    Thanks for this one KittyMama, it was a fun post to do.

    Thank you, MegaMom! Already posted a comment on your blog! ~♥Kittymama

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Taggage « Fragile What!? - January 24, 2008

    […] Okaseneko Chronicles ~ cuz I’ve just recently met her and I’m curious to know more (response) […]

  2. Deconstructing MegaMom « Pinay MegaMom - January 27, 2008

    […] Klog Item Number 4: Seven Things About Me, from KittyMama of Okasaneko […]

Leave a Reply

