When Angels Walked The Earth

29 Jan

Angels Walk for AutismI wanted to post my pictures of last Sunday’s very successful Angels Walk for Autism, but sleep got in the way. I was sleep-deprived for the two nights preceding the Walk. I must have gotten just four hours snooze on Friday and I didn’t get to sleep at all Saturday night. I was finishing up on the button pins and the packaging for autism-related items I was going to set up for the bazaar, thus the sudden disruption in my sleep schedule.

Autism Ribbon Pins    Autism Button Pins

Still, the sacrifice was worth it.

On Sunday morning, at six in the morning, Alex and I trooped bright and early to Liwasang Aurora of the Quezon Memorial Circle. Alphonse was still asleep then, snug among pillows and a down comforter.  I vacillated between wanting to wake him up for a Sunday adventure and just letting him sleep in. Alphonse made the decision himself when I tried to wake him up; he opened his eyes for a fraction of a second, shook his head sluggishly, and went right back to sleep.

Wearing my advocacy hat to stay coolThere were four of us that day: Alex, my sister Jasmine, cousin Ampy, and myself. A stayed home to watch over the sleeping Alphonse.

The sun rose fast Sunday morning, and by half past six, despite the soft cool breeze of January mornings, we were sweltering in the morning sun. We set up shop in a little half-table on the left side of the circle. People started buying soon after. Sales were brisk!The Autism Pins were a hit!  I also received some inquiries on the laminated PECS cards (aptly named AlphieCards, how cute is that?) that I had market-tested that day.

While Alex and his aunts answered inquiries and wrapped up sales, I registered for the walk and got coupons for free water, food and ice cream. I even received a free t-shirt meant for Alphonse but which I ended up giving to my nephew Enzo. The shirts booth had run out of sizes and all they had were toddler shirts. 🙂

Congresswoman Risa BaraquelThere was a short ceremony to formally open the day’s major activity. My favorite Congresswoman, Risa Hontiveros-Baraquel, was a special guest. I was delighted to see her sacrifice her Sunday morning to be with us so I ran after her to personally thank her. After the short speeches, we all donned our hats and I ran back to slather a few final drops of sun block. I joined the queue of Alphonse’s teachers but  I only walked part of the way with them as I wanted to take more pictures. By the half-way mark, I was huffing and puffing from overzealous running. I should have taken the time to warm up, I mentally scolded myself. Still, despite the cramps in my legs, the wheezing in my lungs, and the sun burn on my nose, I had a lot of fun.I am an Autism Pinoy member!

Sunday, I was filled with a sense of pride not just for what I had accomplished that day, but for the sense of unity and camaraderie shared by all those whose lives have been touched with autism.  It was a truly special day, a day when wingless angels walked the earth. Angel

8 Responses to “When Angels Walked The Earth”

  1. leira January 29, 2008 at 4:50 pm #

    uyyy congratulations!!! post ka naman about the PECS cards na mina-market mo..

    Will do, promise! I’m currently organizing categories (now have food, clothing,toys, home, self-help & study, and animals, with plans to add more categories of both objects and actions) and making suitable brochures and flyers. I’m debating on the merits of an online store either at wordpress or multiply; what do you think? ~♥Kittymama

  2. FXSmom January 29, 2008 at 6:04 pm #

    That is so cool. I love it :). I wish I had the resources to make something like that happen here for fragile X. WTG 🙂

    I have absolutely no doubts that you can make it happen, Beth. I think that moms have incredible power and if you just keep at it long enough and knock on as many doors as possible, it can be done. My country’s Autism Society started as a group of mothers who had very little resources and little help; many years later, they are now a national organization with international recognition. I am a mere member, but I am a proud card-carrying one! Yey to us moms! ~♥Kittymama

  3. taroogs January 30, 2008 at 3:54 am #

    more power to the organizers! let us hope that someday more people will be informed about what autism is and what it is not.

    Autism Society Philippines has made a lot of inroads in autism awareness and acceptance in our country. It’s something every Filipino, neurotypical or differently-abled, can be proud of. Thank you for visiting and please drop by again! ~♥Kittymama

  4. leira January 30, 2008 at 4:39 pm #

    i think its better to have it in multiply.. kasi para mas organized.. im excited.. Joshwa is doing PECs but i might need something thats applicable sa Jollibee.. puede ba mag pa customize???

    Yes, I will also make custom-made cards for specific needs. If you have a picture you want cleaned up, I can do it for you. Else, I can take pictures myself. 🙂

  5. leirs January 31, 2008 at 5:26 am #

    you can do it na lang.. i want logo’s of restaurants like Jollibee, McDonalds, KFC yung popular na fastfood restaurants dyan,, he has his PECS books (yes 2 sya) pero I want din something na applicable sa atin,,alam mo excited ako sa business na yan.. I could even help you market it uyyy sosyo tayo hahhahahha.

    I have the logos of the fastfood already; will now start to compile pictures of their products. But wait… is Josh on the diet?
    ~♥Kittymama

  6. julie January 31, 2008 at 7:22 am #

    Sayang, I missed you by a few minutes where you were seated!

    Anyway, re PECS card, that is a wonderful project, Pinky. I wish you success and patience 🙂

    I think its better to get your own domain and be hosted by webhosting service reseller/provider and not rely on free hosting since you are going to sell online. My two cents lang.

    I think you’ll have to “tutor” me on the finer points of online selling, Teacher Julie. 🙂 I’m absolutely clueless. Maybe you can even write it as a blog post, “How to open an online store,” or something like that. I thought of Multiply because I am already part of a network of Hello Kitty addicts and I once saw a Hello Kitty store on WordPress, but I’m still putting things together in my head for that. I’ve started doing it the old-fashioned way- flyers by mail- and hopefully, this’ll take off the ground.

    And sorry I missed you at the Walk. Alex kept looking out for you. And oh, I love your picture of the dove-release ceremony!

    ~♥Kittymama

  7. leira February 1, 2008 at 6:36 am #

    no.. Joshwa is not on the diet… we tried it before didn’t work for us…

    That’s alright. 🙂 Alphonse doesn’t seem to be a responder as well, but I haven’t given up on it yet. I have pecs of gfcf foods and stuff, too. Hehe, just covering the bases… ~♥Kittymama

  8. julie February 6, 2008 at 1:54 am #

    Well, putting up an online store is a good excuse, no, the BEST excuse for that lunch date 🙂 Text-text tayo.

    Thanks, Teacher Julie! You might have to charge me for your time, though, because I’ll be sure to squeeze every drop of info from you, hehe. ~♥Kittymama

Leave a Reply

