“Nano Nano”

20 Feb

Mork And MindyNo, this is not an homage to the seventies’ hit show Mork and Mindy, though I am reminded of it each time I hear the word Nano. Mork (Robin Williams) and Mindy (Pam Dawber) brought into our consciousness a sense of quickfire humor, as well as the cultural hallmark of the era, the “Nanu-Nanu” (Orkan for “hello”) and its accompanying hand signal. And while I would love to reminisce more on my era of growing up, this post isn’t really about Mork or Mindy, but about Apple’s iPod Nano.

I’ve been fortunate enough to acquire the new 3rd generation iPod Nano in pink, a gift from my gadget-geek husband who knew that his gadget-geek wife appreciated, well, duh, gadgets. I’m not much of a flowers-and-chocolate kind of person, though he does buy me flowers weekly (mums and chrysanthemums), and he indulges my sweet tooth very often, perhaps much too often. 🙂 But for special occasions, we both agree that while flowers may be beautiful and romantic, they wilt and die all too soon, and decadently rich chocolates in a fancy box get eaten just as fast as they are unwrapped, the sweetness gone before they are even savored. As such, nothing beats a gift of a gadget (or a household appliance.) Rather unromantic, some would say, but not for a gal who get chills down the spine just from the letters P-S-P.

For Valentine’s Day this year, A got me three gifts:
a.) a Hello Kitty Nintendo DS Case to add to my collection of Kitty stuff.

Kitty Ds Cases


b.) a Belkin USB laptop cooling stand which I soooo love because my laptop does not overheat anymore even after four hours of The Sims 2  It makes me wonder, how did I ever live without it? (You can see a great review of the item here.)

Belkin USB Laptop Cooler

c.) and an eight GB 3rd generation pink iPod Nano.

Pink Nano 3rd gen

This is my third iPod in as many years. The first was a pink iPod Mini, followed a year later by a 1st generation iPod Nano in black. (See it below, dressed in a Kitty case.) The Mini and Nano1 still work perfectly (the batteries haven’t died out yet, thank God!) but the new iPod is a most welcome gift, as Alphonse will be the direct beneficiary of an older unit. Just to show you how attached he is to pink (okay, okay, blame the mother…), here is a snippet of the conversation we had today.A Mini and Two Nanos

Me: Look, Alphonse, two iPods! (Mom points to Mmini and Nano1)

Alphonse nods. “Yes”

Me: Do you want to have one?

Alphonse nods again. “Yes”

Me: You can choose which one you like. Black or pink? (Holds one on each hand.)

Alphonse flashes a big grin, and shyly points to… pink.

Me: You can have the black one. (Mom instantly regrets giving the child a choice. Talk about confusing the poor child!)

Alphonse shakes his head emphatically (“NO!”), then makes a grab for the pink mini.

Me: Well… okay then, pink it is. 

He then puts the earphones in his ear and motions for me to play his favorite songs from the Joseph King of Dreams soundtrack. He is in bliss.

Ah, a son who loves pink. What did I do right?

6 Responses to ““Nano Nano””

  1. leirs February 21, 2008 at 4:51 am #

    Joshwa loves his Toshiba player also in Pink.. with the Pink ear phones.. wala lang nakakarelate lang..

    Oh, my, our boys are definitely getting a lot of feminine influences from us. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

    P.S. Sent you email, my friend.

  2. mari February 21, 2008 at 4:55 pm #

    i love the hello kitty nano!

    Cute, ‘no? It was the only way I could “stand” the black one (with apologies to the generous gift-giver, A). Black, although quite lovely on my rotund figure, was too drab for my pink Kittified world, haha. There are nicer ones online, but this one I found at 168 for a steal. ~♥Kittymama

  3. hyprsts February 21, 2008 at 6:52 pm #

    Hmmm….Really? Joseph King of Dreams? Which song?….. There are some poweful words there in Aramaic in at least 2 of the songs there….No joke.

    I always learn new things from you, Cris, and they never fail to give me goosebumps. 🙂 He loves the entire soundtrack, and were it not for the occasional Sheryl Crow on his playlist, I think I’d go crazy listening to them. It’s the only thing that calms him down and decreases his verbal stimming. And yes, right now, we have a dedicated player and tv set only for Joseph King of Dreams. He’s the boss. (Which song?)~♥Kittymama

    P.S. Just saw your site today. Welcome, my friend! I’m adding you to my blog list right away!

  4. megamomph February 23, 2008 at 10:23 am #

    Cool, three gifts! Three cool gifts! Gosh, reminds me I still have to do my v-day posts.
    Cute about the pink iPod and Alphonse… 🙂 Definitely your genes!

    It’s scary how his preferences seem to mirror mine (even his blanket is pink!). ~♥Kittymama

  5. hyprsts February 26, 2008 at 1:47 am #

    It’s in the background of a few songs. I can’t remember which ones. You can barely hear it because they wanted to keep in hidden, for a very important reason. Most ASD’s love music that uplift consciousness (praise music, angel music, yoga chanting….).

    Thanks for adding my blog. I have a few other entries I have to move from another blog provider. Still thinking about going public with it. I’ve already scared enough people. 😀 I’m glad you’re still around in spite of my freak flag. 😀

    Cris, “normal” people scare me. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  6. Kitty July 19, 2008 at 9:43 am #

    This is the first iPod that I ever buy. It’s very cute and works really well. The packaging is very nicely done in an elegant white box inside of which are the headphones.

    The iPod is easy to use and sync music with if you’ve done this kind of thing before, but there are manuals to be downloaded online for anything that you need.

    One thing though, the iPod nano is extremely slim and I would not recommend that clumsy people who drop things a lot buy it, because I borrowed a friend’s iPod before and the screen went bust because it got a minor shock, while i was driving.

    I think I will buy ipod nano for my friend.

Leave a Reply

