Sick Day

28 Feb

sick dayI woke up yesterday morning feeling like a hatchet was buried deep in my prefrontal cortex. I was running a 39.6˚C (103.28˚F) fever that blistered my lips and had me shivering uncontrollably. My joints were achy and my muscles were sore. My nose was stuffy and my throat was itchy. My chest felt like it was weighed down with bricks; I couldn’t take a deep breath without feeling like I was dragging a two-ton trailer out of my windpipes.

And I thought I had escaped flu season this year. 😦

I get a flu shot every year and I had one in November of last year to prepare for the colder months. I received it rather late last year because I forgot to schedule it ahead of time. The country follows the Southern Hemisphere schedule of vaccination beginning two to three months before the peak flu season of July to August. Still, I hadn’t expected it to strike so late (it’ll be summer soon here in the Philippines). I’m not one to fall sick often but when I do get sick, I don’t escape easily. I’m just hoping that I don’t pass this around to anyone else in the household.

The CDC recently reported that 23% of the influenza viruses identified in their current monitoring and surveillance belong to a strain that is not included in this season’s vaccine.  I have no idea how the vaccines that we receive correlate with US vaccine production, but if what I am feeling today is an indication of new strains cropping up, then I worry very much about the unvaccinated population.  

Today, I am shutting out the world as I recuperate from this virus. Food will be takeout (do I hear the boys whooping in joy?). And I’m hanging a sign on my bedroom door, the one that says:

Kittymama’s Time Out

2 Responses to “Sick Day”

  1. megamomph February 28, 2008 at 10:59 am #

    Obviously, the computer is within that bedroom door. (Good for us!)
    Get well soon, KittyMama, and when you are done I have another tag for here: http://megamomph.wordpress.com/2008/02/28/inutile-six/

    Yup! Yup! Yup! Two computers, in fact, and Alex has been complaining since yesterday that I locked him out of YM, hehe. I’ll do the tag when I can start thinking straight again. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  2. FXSmom February 28, 2008 at 5:25 pm #

    So sorry u r sick. My kids got me a Hello Kitty coloring book to help me chill while I recover. I’ll take the left side and you can have the right 😉

    Awww, how sweet! It’s very easy to share crayons with me too! I only use pink! Thanks for being so sweet, my friend! ~♥Kittymama

Leave a Reply

