Light Bulb Moment

3 Mar

Kitty Light Bulb MomentIt rained heavily today, and Alphonse, seeing the opportunity to play in the downpour, was all worked up and excited. From my sickbed, I could hear him yelling in joy, his shouts becoming increasingly shrill as the rain splashed even louder against the roof. As soon as his class was over, he didn’t even bother to look for me in the bedroom or kitchen (as is his daily practice); he simply ran off outside. I could hear his whoops and screeches and laughter from upstairs.

A few minutes later, it dawned on me that he might not be adequately dressed to play in the rain. And I was right. He had taken off all his clothes and was running around in his birthday suit. (Thank God for high fences!) His arms were stretched to the heavens, and he was twirling, spinning, and jumping in joyful abandon. Were I oblivious to who he is, I would’ve said he was a ballet dancer dancing in the rain (ehrm, make that a naked ballet dancer), so graceful and so rhythmic were his movements. 🙂 He had his eyes closed and a beautiful smile lit up his rain-drenched face. 

He seemed so happy that I felt compelled to run up to him and give him a kiss.

As I drew nearer, however, I suddenly noticed a perceptible change in his expression. He looked at me with a puzzled face, the small knit of his eyebrows erasing any trace of the smile a few seconds before. As soon as I was within range, he plucked my eyeglasses off my face and paused. I held my breath, trying not to hyperventilate. (Inside, however, my mind was screaming, “No, not again!” but I didn’t want to do anything abrupt that might upset him.)

He looked at the  little droplets of water running over the lenses, and the knit turned into a frown, as if remembering something horrible or disturbing from the past. His hands gripped the frame harder, twisting them slightly.

I felt time stop as a light bulb went on in my head. Suddenly, it occurred to me that  something about my glasses — some minuscule change in them — made him unsettled or angry or frustrated.

The water. Yes, the droplets of water running over them — that was the common theme.

The last time he mangled my lenses, I was helping him bathe and I could remember that my glasses were a little wet from his splashing around in the bath. He seemed puzzled and somewhat repulsed, as far as I can tell, from the beads of water on my lenses. I had related this episode to his anxiety over the changes in his daily routine, but what if it was an add-on source of discomfort to an otherwise already uncomfortable day? What if these two were unrelated?

Alphonse has always loved water. He could make a fountain of water dance magically in the air with just two fingers and the slightest change in pressure between them. He could sit on a large basin filled with water for hours (if we let him) and pour and splash and do all sorts of things with it with his hands. But when water strikes a glass pane, as in rain pouring down windows, he would track the beads of water as they dropped and, seeing them disappear in the thin gutter between the window and the pane, would often whine irritably. Was this the same thing?Alphonse and the Hose

I am sooo a dunce! Why didn’t I see this before?

I was silently berating myself over this when as suddenly as he had taken my glasses, he simply handed them back to me without a sound, my eyeglasses bent but none the worse for wear. Perhaps the rains made him a little more forgiving and less anxious, I really couldn’t tell.

Then he was off again, arms stretched out like the wings of an airplane, flying in a whirl of water, dancing in the rain.

8 Responses to “Light Bulb Moment”

  1. Casdok March 3, 2008 at 10:31 am #

    How lovely to watch him having so much fun in the rain, my boy also does this.
    Light bulb moments can be so enlightening (pardon the pun!) when things suddenly fall into place and we understand a bit more.

    It does feel good to have the light turned on in my head once in a while. 🙂 It feels even better when our kids are the ones who turn on the light for us. ~♥Kittymama

  2. mari March 3, 2008 at 6:35 pm #

    i think kids in general love water! 🙂

    Except water for a bath, I think, haha. And since both of them are now adolescents, they resist washing off their newly-discovered “man-stink.” Makes them smell, uhm, manly. ~♥Kittymama

  3. awalkabout March 3, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    Nice you suddenly had the realization tho! Sometimes just GETTING what they’re upset about is so hard… Water on glass. How interesting! I wonder what that means…

    True, it’s very difficult to guess what they’re upset about, particularly if the child has little or no spoken language. I’m just grateful that the insight came when I needed it the most. ~♥Kittymama

  4. hyprsts March 4, 2008 at 1:25 am #

    Lovely feeling, isn’t it? 😀

    Absolutely! ~♥Kittymama

  5. FXSmom March 4, 2008 at 2:18 am #

    That was such an epiphany. I’m jealous of his reckless abandon. 🙂

    Me too. To run naked and dance in the rain… only truly pure souls can do those without fear or malice. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  6. mari March 4, 2008 at 5:00 pm #

    LOL @ “except water for bath”

    🙂

  7. Julie March 5, 2008 at 1:56 am #

    Oh, to do that without being ashamed or conscious.

  8. megamomph March 5, 2008 at 9:55 am #

    Good thing you figured it out. Keeping those glasses clean would certainly be much cheaper than refractive surgery.

    Haha, I know. But I think I’ll start saving my money for the procedure, just in case my light bulb goes dim. 🙂

Leave a Reply

