I’m Baaaccckkk!

28 Mar

I apologize to my good friends if I suddenly dropped off the face of earth. I didn’t mean to. I went missing-in-action to get myself checked out by an internist. Almost daily this week, I went to St. Luke’s Medical Center to consult with my cardiologist and have a battery of tests done. The last one, an exercise electrocardiogram (aka stress test) was done this morning, after a series of blood tests.Stress Test

What started this? Last weekend, in what was supposed to be a quiet Holy Week four-day weekend, I started experiencing chest pains. Some were triggered by exercise (such as running after Alphonse), and still some more others came when I was at rest. Sunday was worst, when I woke up at dawn to the feeling of having my chest crushed by a vise. A wanted to bring me to the ER but I prevailed over him to wait and observe, it being very early in the morning and Alphonse would be left home without responsible adult care. I’ve been weaseling out of my check-ups these last few months, but that episode scared me to submission. I promised A to have myself checked out and I did. The results will come out tomorrow, but I have a fairly good idea what the management would be, despite diagnosis.

I’ve never been hypertensive in my life, except perhaps in pregnancy, but these last few days, my blood pressure has been quite erratic. When the doctor took my blood pressure in her office, it was surprisingly high, and since then, she has asked me to keep a daily log of vital signs for my next check-up. I do have a strong family history of hypertension and cardiovascular diseases, so I will have to be on the lookout for emerging signs and symptoms indicative of these illnesses. I would rather not be put on any medication yet so I will have to rethink and change my lifestyle to avert potential health consequences.

Fat Kitty

Beyond medication, I know that the most important goal would be controlling my weight. I lost almost fifty pounds in 2004 and kept it off for close to two years, but with Alphonse’s regression in 2007, I fell into depression and ate my way back to mental health. I don’t recommend this to anyone, but it certainly felt good while I was doing it. 🙂

This is my next challenge in my coming birthday year: to get myself ready to live up to a hundred.

8 Responses to “I’m Baaaccckkk!”

  1. Casdok March 28, 2008 at 8:40 am #

    Oh how scarey for you.
    Good luck with the change of life style. Sounds like a positive start!

    Thank you for the encouragement! 🙂 I am grateful for your support always. Hope you, C, and the Flat Stanleys are all fine. Hugs to all of you (maybe just high fives for the flats Stanleys so I don’t wrinkle them)! ~♥Kittymama

  2. hyprsts March 28, 2008 at 8:56 am #

    Dearie, go for it! It’s ok to save yourself! Just imagine all the wonderful things you can do once your health returns to optimum! Go, girl! 😀

    Thanks, my friend! I look forward to wearing a bikini again (maybe in two years?). Hehe! 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  3. Mrs. C March 28, 2008 at 10:26 am #

    Oh, goodness! That is scary! I’ve just started on the weight loss thing (AGAIN, Ugh) myself. It’s no fun.

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Wow, you kinda like that Hello Kitty! LOL!

    Yup, no fun at all! 😦 But when I think about how I must live longer for my sons, even bitter gourd tastes sweet to me. Love your blog, Mrs. C! Will link you up! ~♥Kittymama

  4. FXSmom March 28, 2008 at 3:18 pm #

    Oh man! That is so rough. I’m with you on trying to bring myself back to a healthy weight. I’m adding a goal a week. My goal this week is to start eating my oatmeal in the mornings again. I’m not sure about next week. Maybe cut out something like Easter candy. Good luck!!! Don’t push too hard.

    My goal this week: to give up on my Ben & Jerry’s pints. *Groan* I still have five in the freezer.

    And that’s a great idea- oatmeal! I should move my oatmeal out of the bathroom and into my kitchen.

    Thanks for the encouragement, Beth! Sure do appreciate it! ~♥Kittymama

  5. mari March 28, 2008 at 8:51 pm #

    take care of yourself, ok? i’m glad you’re back. 🙂

    Thanks, Mari! Appreciate your concern. 🙂 As our famous dictator with the heavily-gelled pompadour used to say, “I do not intend to die.” ~♥Kittymama

  6. megamomph March 29, 2008 at 12:13 am #

    Scary naman KittyMama! We shouldn’t eat too much when we EB then. Hey maybe we can “buddy” for a fitness program a la WW style. 😉

    That sounds great! As for our EB, am still up for the eating, but I must learn to say “No” to eat-all-you-can buffets. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  7. megamomph March 29, 2008 at 5:12 am #

    By the way, I think you should join this upcoming week’s “The Blog Rounds” being hosted this time by my former student Dr. Clairebear. The theme is “At a Crossroads” and I am most certain you will have lots to contribute.
    You can find the details over here.

    Thanks, MegaMom. I think I will drop in on TBR, because:
    a.) I am grateful for your invitation always.
    b.) Dr. Clairebear must have been a really good student of yours because you like her a lot.
    c.) She has a cute name.
    d.) All of the above.

    D! D! D!

    Always with gratitude and friendship, ♥Kittymama

  8. julie March 29, 2008 at 3:36 pm #

    KittyMama, hope everything will be ok. Hugs from this household to yours 🙂

    Thanks for the hug, Teacher Julie! I needed that. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

Leave a Reply

