Affirmation of Expertise

8 Apr

You are an expert

It’s easy enough to be carried away by the differing opinions of experts. Coming from a vantage point of the medical profession, I learned early enough to accord respect and deference to learned individuals of magnified importance, education, and status. And this becomes many a parent’s dilemma: is their voice worthy enough to be heard? What is the value of their opinion and knowledge when stacked against those of expert medical and education experts?

I’ve realized however, that when it comes to my child, I am the expert, not the doctors, not his teachers, and certainly not those who pass judgment based on an hour or two of observation. I use their knowledge as a compass for navigating unknown terrain, but in the end, I, not them, walk the path with my child.

You and I are experts too.

3 Responses to “Affirmation of Expertise”

  1. Casdok April 8, 2008 at 8:03 am #

    Your absolutly right!
    And well said!

  2. hyprsts April 8, 2008 at 10:21 pm #

    Hey, girl! Just want to share these websites that has been working well for me lately: http://wwwlawofattractionbook.com and http://www.abraham-hicks.com….Just check them out and then I leave it you. If you need books, and videos I have them… 😀

  3. julie April 17, 2008 at 6:07 pm #

    Of course the parents are the experts with regards to their kids. But I’ve met overbearing parents who, instead of trying to help us who work with their children cause us headache.

    Oh, also, in this culture of ours, permit me to say that the yayas are also experts, especially when it comes to busy parents who don’t have time for their children.

    Been reading these related posts and these are good ones. Mabuhay ka KT 🙂

Leave a Reply

