“Do I Make You Proud?”

12 May

Alex in BusinessWorld May 9-10, 2008 edition

My son Alex’s first Mother’s Day gift turned out to be one of the best- he got himself published! 🙂

Around a week and a half ago, having gotten off theater practice early, he, A and I caught the advance screening of Speed Racer at SM Megamall Cinema 1. I think he must have been really impressed with the movie as he set to write about it as soon as he got home that night. He submitted it to BusinessWorld for the arts and leisure pages, and thankfully, it landed on the Weekender. Proud father showed me a copy last Friday when he got home from work. (Above is a screen shot of the online edition. You can check it out here.) Alex was all smiles as he asked me to keep a copy for him, and asked his dad to get another copy for Mr. P, his theater teacher.

“Advanced Happy Mother’s Day, Ma,” he whispered as he gave me a peck on the cheek.

Alex often sings “Do I make you proud?,” Taylor Hicks’ song when Hicks won American Idol (Fifth Season) two years ago. Now, when he belts into song, I sing back, “You always do.”

 

6 Responses to ““Do I Make You Proud?””

  1. Casdok May 12, 2008 at 10:28 am #

    Oh wow!! How great!!
    Belated happy mothers day!

  2. megamomph May 12, 2008 at 3:28 pm #

    Congratulations Alex! And Congrats to you too, proud Mama! 😉

  3. hyprsts May 13, 2008 at 6:07 am #

    WoW! That’s is so cool! Congratulations to Alex and you! 😀

  4. Kittymama May 15, 2008 at 6:57 am #

    Casdok- I missed you a lot, my friend! I hope you get back to blogging soon. Blog world is incomplete without you.

    Megamom- thank you! My heart runneth over. 🙂

    Hyprsts- I’m glad you liked Speed Racer too! And thank you for the well wishes!

  5. julie May 22, 2008 at 9:47 am #

    Oh, Alex, I am so proud of you 😀 Same goes to you and A of course.

  6. Kittymama May 22, 2008 at 12:41 pm #

    Thank you, teacher Julie! Alex says hi and thanks too!

Leave a Reply

