Stepping Up To Be “Wifely”

30 May

Much Too Young!I’m writing this from an undisclosed location, away from the kids for a change. I am on a very special birthday vacation. Yes, friends, tomorrow, I turn a year older. 🙂

I was hesitant to celebrate my birthday away from the children. Aside from the worries of the long days and nights without my boys, I worry about the people who have lovingly volunteered their time to be surrogate parents to them (my parents and sisters). And yet, they all agree, son Alex included, that I deserve this. And that I should grab at this chance to replenish my soul, to rejuvenate my spirit, and to renew the commitments I made to myself and to my family for personal changes. I am speechless with their generosity.

So now, here I am, alone in a picture-perfect room, away from my Alexander and Alphonse. A is running some errands for me, and I only have my laptop to keep me company. I am unused to the silence. I have never been alone this long before.

Languidly, I click on my Hello Kitty mouse and the pictures change. I find myself lingering on some blogs, one of them, Toni’s Wifely Steps. For a woman many years younger (and lighter, hehe) than me, we have surprisingly similar interests. I smile as I browse through my favorites. Books, games, crafts, home, marriage and family. Perhaps that’s why I am drawn to her every day.

Bostik saves the day!Sometimes, her posts are fluff and light, filled with juicy tidbits and humor; other times, they can be somber and thought-provoking, filled with soul-searching and gravitas. You can never tell what strikes her fancy, but I always hope for the following: Sims 2 (and other gaming news), Twilight, books and, of course, lots of “A Day In the Life” and “Spick and Span” posts. After all, I wouldn’t have gotten around to fixing my son’s sleeping bag if it were not for Toni and her Bostik Sew No More.

I am distracted by the knocking on the door. Room service, I think. I wait a bit more before I open the door, distracted by the upcoming Sims 2 IKEA Stuff, to be released in June. The knocking continues and I run to let the server in.Addicted to Sims 2

He looks at me funny as I sign for the meal. I catch my reflection on the mirror and see that I am, in fact, grinning to myself. I remember that I have yet to show one of my favorite posts from Toni, “There is no love in laundry,” to my husband. It brings me back to our early days when A and I were newly married and we did everything together (we still do); I think he’ll get a smile out of this.

The door opens again. A is back, smiling. He proudly shows me a bottle of Coke Zero he got somewhere (“Coke is outrageously pricey in hotels,” he reminds me).

This is what this vacation is all about. Time to just be a wife to A. Time to recommit to our marriage. Happy birthday to me, I thought to myself, as I pull A to the large comfy bed.

~0~

I didn’t think I’d have time to blog during my vacation but I wanted to squeeze this in before time runs out at midnight tonight.

Wifely StepsToni of Wifely Steps is celebrating her fifth anniversary as blogger (and also five years of marriage). I write this out of appreciation for the enjoyment I derive from her weblog. Thank you, Toni! Happy Aniversary and Happy Anniversary!

9 Responses to “Stepping Up To Be “Wifely””

  1. Casdok May 30, 2008 at 7:07 am #

    Many happy returns to you!! Hope you have a super vaction!!

  2. hyprsts May 30, 2008 at 9:44 am #

    Enjoy girl! You deserve it! Happy Birthday!

  3. odette May 30, 2008 at 9:49 am #

    kittymama,
    happy birthday to you!!!
    for a time in my childhood, i was hooked with the sanrio craze. but then came jane austen, charlotte bronte and harper lee later that made me put away everything pink and girly. 🙂 so now every time i see anything sanrio gives me a sense of nostalgia. 🙂

    thank you for dropping by my blog, toni just gave me a new friend again! 🙂

    enjoy your day, and i wish you lotsa peace and happiness!!!

  4. Gracey May 30, 2008 at 11:47 am #

    Happy birthday to you and enjoy your vacation!

  5. FXSmom May 30, 2008 at 4:20 pm #

    Happy Birthday! Have a blessed vacation 🙂

  6. toni May 31, 2008 at 6:01 pm #

    Happy happy birthday darling. 🙂

  7. micamyx June 1, 2008 at 4:33 pm #

    Happy Birthday Kitty Mama ! 🙂

  8. Ness June 4, 2008 at 4:54 am #

    Happy Birthday Kitty Mama!!

  9. Kittymama June 5, 2008 at 2:38 am #

    Casdok, Cris, Odette, Gracey, Beth, Toni, Mica and Ness- Thank you! Being 41 isn’t all that bad with friends like you. God bless! 🙂

Leave a Reply

