Having A Baby

5 Jun

Kitty has a baby!

My good friend Beth of Fragile What? tagged me for this First Born meme. I am happy to oblige. 🙂 The sweetest days I’ve ever had were when I was having my babies (in spite of the complications, the morning sickness, the constantly bloated feeling, the watermelon “jugs,” the swollen ankles, and even the unnatural cravings for sardine-flavored ice cream).

1. WAS YOUR FIRST PREGNANCY PLANNED? No

2. WERE YOU MARRIED AT THE TIME? Yes

3. WHAT WERE YOUR REACTIONS? I was ecstatic, so was A.

4. WAS ABORTION AN OPTION FOR YOU? No

5. HOW OLD WERE YOU? I was 25

6. HOW DID YOU FIND OUT YOU WERE PREGNANT? I had been feeling nauseated every day, at all hours. Car rides, in particular, made me squirm in discomfort; a long trip would be punctuated with  periodic visits to the bathroom. Alas! My love affair with the toilet bowl had started! 

7. WHO DID YOU TELL FIRST? A, of course! 🙂

8. DID YOU WANT TO FIND OUT THE SEX? Yes

9. DUE DATE? March 29

10. DID YOU HAVE MORNING SICKNESS? Yes, and it was horrible! I threw up at all hours, not just mornings.

11. WHAT DID YOU CRAVE? I hankered for mangosteen, a rich, creamy, sweet-and-sour Yummy mangosteen fruittropical fruit. Local superstition tells us that what a woman craves during pregnancy would influence her child’s features at birth, and while I certainly don’t believe it, old relatives would often remark that my baby’s pale body/ darker face (which was flushed red in infancy) was the effect of the dark rind/white fruit of the mangosteen.

12.  WHO/WHAT IRRITATED YOU THE MOST? A complained that whenever I got pregnant, I was almost always grumpy with him. Honestly, I can’t remember being irritated by any one person or one thing in particular.

13. WHAT WAS YOUR FIRST CHILD’S SEX? Male

14. DID YOU WISH YOU HAD THE OPPOSITE SEX OF WHAT YOU WERE  GETTING? A and I wanted to have a girl at first  (we started buying dolls for “her” long before I ever got pregnant). When we found out that we were having a  boy, we were happy too- we were going to have a boy who’d take after his dad and carry on the family name.

15. HOW MANY POUNDS DID YOU GAIN THROUGHOUT YOUR PREGNANCY? With the first pregnancy, around 50 lbs (Yikes!), of which less than 7 was the baby (Double Yikes!).

16. DID YOU HAVE A BABY SHOWER? No. 😦

17. WAS IT A SURPRISE OR DID YOU KNOW? My sisters and girlfriends wanted to have one for me but the baby came early so we opted to get together at the christening. 

18. DID YOU HAVE ANY COMPLICATIONS DURING YOUR PREGNANCY? I had gestational diabetes and preeclampsia or hypertension in pregnancy. (I’m not posting any pictures prior to delivery because I was huge and swollen!) I was admitted to the hospital twice for control of blood pressure, the last one being three days just before I underwent an emergency caesarian section. I hadn’t thought I was giving birth so soon. I went for a routine prenatal that day but my blood pressure zoomed to 200/110. Later, the fetal monitor showed that the baby was in distress. The doctors decided to deliver immediately.

19. WHERE DID YOU GIVE BIRTH? At a small private hospital in the city where the leading obstetrician was my uncle (my father’s elder brother). Because I hardly paid for anything, my first delivery was so cheap! 

20. HOW MANY HOURS WERE YOU IN LABOR? No labor with the first one (but ask me about the second one where I went into labor for 10 hours only to be delivered by CS too- GRRR!). I was so confident I wasn’t going to deliver any time soon that I didn’t even bring anything that day, just a small Hello Kitty handbag with some toiletries.

21. WHO DROVE YOU TO THE HOSPITAL? My husband A

22. WHO WATCHED YOU GIVE BIRTH? Just the doctors and nurses; A wasn’t allowed in by my uncle. Maybe it was just as well, A never got used to seeing blood until a long time later.

23. WAS IT NATURAL OR C-SECTION? C- Section

24. DID YOU TAKE MEDICINE TO EASE THE PAIN? Yes, but just minimal, some over-the-counter pain relievers. I’ve always had a high tolerance for pain. In fact, three days after the CS, I went shopping for a whole day.

25. HOW MUCH DID YOUR CHILD WEIGH? 6lbs 2 oz

26. WHEN WAS YOUR CHILD ACTUALLY BORN? February 9, six weeks early from the actual due date

27. WHAT DID YOU NAME HIM/HER? Alexander (“defender of men,” “protector of mankind”)

Baby At Last!

Anyone who’d like to do this tag, please feel free to join. I’d love to hear what your pregnancy stories are too! 🙂

2 Responses to “Having A Baby”

  1. leirs June 6, 2008 at 3:37 am #

    Mare,
    Sinagot ko yung tag mo..
    it was fun.. see you soon

  2. Kittymama June 6, 2008 at 6:47 am #

    Hi, Leirs! Left a message for you at your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

