“How Do I Love Thee?”

8 Jun

For the sake of A’s privacy, I have decided not to post any pictures from my birthday vacation. Instead, I would like to share the many, wonderful ways A surprised me for this special event.

The night before we left, A brought home this cake for me and the kids. (See the dedication? How sweet!) I know Hello Kitty looks a little ragged in this cake, but I was so pleased that he remembered that I loved it just the same. Besides, Keroppi looked kinda cute!

Surprise Birthday Cake

A then asked me to pose for the camera, but I didn’t know he pulled a prank on me until I reviewed the pictures for uploading. 🙂

 Fourteen?

See how he switched the numbers from 41 to 14? Funny man, but he later made up for this by saying he has loved me since we were 14. Ahhh, what could be sweeter than that?

The cake would literally prove to be just the “icing” for my birthday celebrations as A had more surprises up his sleeve.  

At exactly midnight of May 31, just before he and I went to bed, he pulled out two more boxes from I-don’t-know-where-he-hid-them.

Midnight surprises

I was confused why he would give me another SD card until I opened the beautifully wrapped gift. Imagine my astonishment when I saw this-

Wowoweee!

“AAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!” I shrieked and jumped and hyperventilated for joy!

And when I settled down from the screaming and the jumping, he gave me yet another one…

 Four million dollar love

A beautiful hello kitty-red Crumpler camera bag! How many more surprises can my heart take?

A and I then spent another hour fiddling with the camera and taking shots of each other. I fell asleep that night, wrapped in his arms, with the camera manual draped over my chest.

Over the next few days, as A and I enjoyed our brief vacation, he never failed to pull a surprise or two on me. They weren’t always  “over-the-moon” kind of surprises, though. Sometimes, it would be the simplest little thing, like a bar of chocolate or a bottle of Coke zero (“Coke is outrageously pricey in hotels,” he repeatedly reminded me. So one time, I ordered this very exotic tasting juice from room service, proud that I did not order Coke, and when the bill came, the juice was worth almost PhP600! I went back to Coke zero brought elsewhere, haha. But I digress…)

Most of the time, it was just the way he made his presence felt to me, like how, after 17 years of marriage, he still moves over to the side of traffic when we cross streets, or how he always gives me first dibs on the better pillow. Or how he starts and ends our days with “I love you.”

I Love You To Infinity Signed Kittymama Style

If I had honestly thought that by the third day, he had pulled enough surprises, I was in for a bigger shock. A knew that Hello Kitty would not be too far behind when my birthday comes every year, so he also whipped up this Kitty bag of goodies for me: three different Hello Kitty NDS lite styluses (reminder to self: plural of stylus is styli or styluses, but I like the latter better), a HK lunch bag, a metal water bottle, a pencil case (which can also double as PSP case) and stationery staples in pink and red.  

Kitty birthday surprises

How can you not love a man who feels secure shopping for Hello Kittys? 

Just this week, a few days after we came back, A brought this home for me. His gift, he says, for my birthday. “But you’ve given me so much already,” I cried out. “For your wee feet,” he jested and smiled broadly as once again, the house was filled with screams and thumps of heavy-butt jumping.

Wee Feet

I’ve always loved Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s poems and when I was young, I took to heart Sonnet 43 of her Sonnets from the Portuguese. I always prayed that when I meet the man of my heart, he would love me this same way.

“How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height
My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight
For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.
I love thee to the level of everyday’s
Most quiet need, by sun and candlelight.
I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;
I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.
I love thee with the passion put to use
In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.
I love thee with a love I seemed to lose
With my lost saints,—I love thee with the breath,
Smiles, tears, of all my life!—and, if God choose,
I shall but love thee better after death.”

He already does. Am I not a lucky woman indeed? 

8 Responses to ““How Do I Love Thee?””

  1. leira June 8, 2008 at 1:52 pm #

    Ay ang sweet ni A.. Im glad you had a happy birthday.. you deserve it.

    Thanks, Leirs! It makes me feel even guiltier when I say “I deserve it,” because in truth, I’m much too spoiled by A. I just wish I could do the same for him. I’d love to pull surprises on him next time! ~♥Kittymama

  2. Gracey June 8, 2008 at 5:20 pm #

    You are one spoiled woman! Great presents!

    Yes, I feel much too spoiled… and I am really, really grateful. ~♥Kittymama

  3. hyprsts June 8, 2008 at 9:15 pm #

    Aaaahhh…. 😀

    Think I’ll scream and shriek some more with you… Aaaaaahhhhh!!!!! ~♥Kittymama

  4. hyprsts June 9, 2008 at 11:47 pm #

    Hahaha! My niece just asked if we can go to your place and try out your guitar and balance board. 😀 hahahaha….

    Alex says I’m much too selfish to share daw, haha! (I limit his time kasi…) ~♥Kittymama

  5. megamomph June 11, 2008 at 5:00 pm #

    I know I have to play catch up having been absent for ages, but 1st things 1st, Happy Birthday my friend!
    What wonderful sweetness from A! Sometimes I think about the time we were 14 – did you imagine then you’d be together with A? That you are together now is the best gift. What can I say? LIfe is beautiful!

    Thanks, Megamom! Really, who knew, di ba? A and I had been friends since we were 14 and it didn’t seem at all possible then that THIS was a future outcome. If I had known it then, I probably would’ve skipped the Abominable Snowman phases and headed directly to A. Sayang oras, hehe. ~♥Kittymama

  6. Ness June 12, 2008 at 5:55 am #

    Happy birthday KittyMama!!!

  7. Ness June 12, 2008 at 6:03 am #

    Happy birthday, KittyMama!!!

  8. julie June 13, 2008 at 6:43 am #

    Natawa ako sa

    “AAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!” I shrieked and jumped and hyperventilated for joy!

    I was thinking, no, don’t hyperventilate, gamitin mo muna camera mo 😀

    Spoiled ka kay A and you are so loving it 🙂

    Belated Happy Birthday KittyMama, kelan mo ako ite-treat 🙂

Leave a Reply

