Stage Mom

4 Jul

Note to selfComing home from school and Sibol late Wednesday night, Alexander suddenly asks, “Mom, what day does August ** fall on?” 

“Uhmmm, I have no idea… A Friday, I think…Why do you ask?” (I was wrong. August ** this year falls on a Sunday.)

“On Fridays, I usually have Sibol. You think Papa can pick me up at 1 pm, bring me somewhere, and bring me back to school at 2:30?”

“Where is that somewhere? And why do you have to leave school for it?” As usual, Mom gets to be the interrogator and drill master.

“Uhm, I have to bring a gift…” From within the dark moving car, I could actually “hear” him blush.

“Oh, yeah! It’s Sweeney’s (not her real name) 15th birthday!” I suddenly remembered. Sweeney is this sweet, young girl whom Alex likes. They’ve been friends for a while. “You don’t have to do it if you’re in school, son. Maybe Alphonse and I can deliver it instead.”

“Aww, mom…” Alex starts to whine. I hear a little scuffling from behind me as Alphonse tugs on Alex’s arm. 

“Alphonse, tell your kuya (big brother) that you don’t mind doing it, will you? Do you want to deliver the gift to Sweeney?”

Alphonse mumbles something intelligible and I was just about to say “See, Alex, he doesn’t mind,” when Alphonse blurts out a very loud “Ayaw!” (I don’t like!)

Everyone in the car laughs. For a boy who hardly speaks, he can be very opinionated sometimes. 🙂 Serves me right for being a stagemom, hehe.  

It’s settled, then. Guess Alex will be delivering the gift himself.

5 Responses to “Stage Mom”

  1. manggy July 4, 2008 at 8:04 am #

    Haha! Oh, the sweetness of youth (um, ang tanda ko na ba?!)! Good luck to Alex! 😉

  2. leirs July 5, 2008 at 12:34 am #

    hahahah!!! funny talaga si Alphonse..our kids never cease to surprise us

  3. FXSmom July 6, 2008 at 2:20 am #

    lol…too funny 🙂

  4. julie July 7, 2008 at 4:01 pm #

    Oh, Alex is growing up na talaga 🙂

  5. Maddy July 8, 2008 at 6:09 am #

    Yes indeed! It’s the ‘silent’ ones that so often stop me in my tracks.
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

