Midterm Confessions

24 Jul

(aka Please Don’t Shoot The Messenger)

Dinner, Sunday night.

Alex: Mama, we’re going to confession tomorrow. (Sounds nonchalant, just trying to make small talk)

Mom: Uh-huh… (mouth full, making yummy chewing sounds)

Alex: And Ma? (stops in between mouthfuls of food)

Mom: Uh-huh? (I get a chill down my spine. I don’t like the sound of this…)

Alex: Midterm grades are coming out the same day.  (Takes a deep breath and blinds me with the metal braces of his smile.)

Mom: Uh…huh… (Inflection on huh; A and I exchange knowing glances.)

Alex: You think they’ll make us go to confession tomorrow so if our parents kill us for poor grades, we can go straight to heaven?

Mom: Uh-oh. (Oh, well, got to give him credit for trying to make me laugh.)

 

Update: Doing okay in math, but he’ll have to do much, much, much better in Filipino.

(Man, can anyone tell me why this boy thinks in English and is hopelessly terrible in his own language?)

6 Responses to “Midterm Confessions”

  1. manggy July 24, 2008 at 3:36 am #

    Ouch. I feel his pain. It’s just the way it is for us… I doubt that my four years in UP Diliman remedied it too much (I read Nick Joaquin’s book translated into English for PI 101), but my few years in the clinics of PGH did make my Filipino flow smoothly. Although I would still read the English translation of Nick Joaquin’s book today. (Though I can write essays pretty well in Filipino)

  2. Kittymama July 24, 2008 at 5:02 am #

    It’s the entire Noli Me Tangere for the first term. He reads it in English (Doña Soledad Locsin’s translation, I think) after reading it in Filipino (Virgilio Almario’s translation, which is really good, if only he can understand it more). When he does get it, he loves to discuss the book with his teacher (lucky for him, his current Fil teacher is one cool dude).

    He does love the Bigkas exams, and does well in them (Sibol boy kasi), and I hope this helps turn around his English-thinking brain once in a while.

  3. kokegulper July 25, 2008 at 4:40 am #

    I was laughing reading your posts and Alex’s small talk. I think I’ll give Alex a high five for such very diplomatic way of well, trying to diffuse some not so wanted consequences here…Go to church and have confessions.

    I’ve done this too and it usually worked for deeply religious ma…hahahaha!

    Ot
    Check out your inbox or emails from TBR, I’ve got one crazy idea I need your thoughts on this.! Thanks

  4. odette July 26, 2008 at 12:01 pm #

    alex has a fine sense of humor. 🙂

    A little macabre, though…hehe 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  5. julie July 31, 2008 at 9:31 am #

    Alex 😀

    Just the right thing to say to escape lighten up the mood and prepare mom for anything that might go wrong re grades, hehehe…

    🙂 He’s one crazy kid… ~♥Kittymama

  6. Charelle August 3, 2008 at 7:56 am #

    :)) The comic strip (or picture, i dont really know anymore) made me laugh. :)) Anyway, yeah. He should improve his Filipino. =)) Partly because it’s my best subject. :)) Haha. Sorry, I didn’t mean to brag. XD Anyway, go Alex! You can do it! =)))

    Thanks, Charelle! I like that he’s trying (it must be because Mr. Apo inspires him a lot). I’m also glad that this is your best subject. It’ll challenge him to do even better. ~♥Kittymama

Leave a Reply

