No Words Spoken

25 Jul
Image by © Martin Meyer/zefa/Corbis

Image by © Martin Meyer/zefa/Corbis

Alphonse and I were waiting in the car last night for A who had gone to run some errands for me (I had him buy some glue sticks from the bookstore). I was reading some messages sent via SMS, quite oblivious to the giggling I was hearing from the back of the car. A few minutes later, Alphonse turned on the interior dome light, apparently to see who he was giggling with. Instinctively, I turned around to tell him off (one of his repetitive habits is switching the lights on and off) when I noticed a young boy standing beside Alphonse’s window. The boy was probably no more than ten years of age, scrawny, dressed in threadbare clothes. He was one of the street urchins who usually offer the use of their umbrellas on rainy days for a fee. Separated by the sheet of window glass, they stared at each other for a few seconds.

Then Alphonse started to giggle, as he looked expectantly at the boy for a reaction. The boy started chuckling in turn, moving his arms in the air, even jumping up and down. This went on for a few minutes until they were both howling in laughter. After a while, the young boy waved goodbye. Alphonse waved back.  He smiled all the way home. 

Wish that making friends were always this easy.  

~0~

Speaking of friendships, I can’t begin to tell everyone how the experience of blogging has opened the world for me with renewed friendships and new ones forged. With a few strokes of the keyboard and a few clicks of the mouse, I have expanded my world beyond what I know.

Megamom shared this lovely tag with me a few weeks ago (thank you, dear friend) and she has an inspiring (and heartbreaking) story to tell that relates to the origins of this tag. I invite you all to click on the links above and read it for yourself. Sharing The Love was created by a grateful mom named Crystal, in honor of the individual who gave her one year-old son Noah a new lease in life by way of an organ donation on July 7, 2007. Noah’s new heart represents not only the best in humanity- the capacity to sacrifice even in the midst of grief- it also speaks of hope and love that we, as sentient beings, all aspire to.

The rules of this award are: SHARE THE LOVE!!! Share this award with all those blogs out there that you love. All the people who make you smile. All those that make you laugh. All those that make your day. All those that leave uplifting comments on your blog. **All I ask, is that you include a link to this post with the award and ask your recipient to do the same**

I pass on this beautiful gift to the special people who have touched my life by way of the written word.

To Casdok of Mother of Shrek and Susan Senator, both mothers of young men with autism, my heroes in this fascinating journey of life with autism,

Susan’s Nat and Casdok’s C are leaving home to explore the world- to learn, to work, to have fun, to dream- and while I am as proud of them as their mothers, I can’t help but feel their moms’ worries,  apprehensions, anxieties, and fears. It takes a lot of courage and faith to set a child free to explore life. And so I send this to Casdok and Susan, with all the love I can muster in this world, for being the kind of mother I always dream to be.

To Odette of Little Miss Firefly and Gracey of XOXOGracey, whose ingenious crafts are as remarkable as their personalities,

As Odette starts a life in Ireland with the man of her heart, I send her this with all the prayers and best wishes for a happy life. And to Gracey, who brings the vibrant colors of our country’s summers to the Netherlands, I send her this, too, with blessings of more grace in her life. Thank you for bringing color to my life.   

And to Mark of No Special Effects, a brilliant young man whose talents never cease to amaze me,  

A physician in the cusp of his career, Doc Mark is the unusual soul whose interests in food and photography make him my all-time favorite food blogger. His gorgeous pictures never fail to heal my soul, and his kindness to an old fogey like me (he visits this blog, yay!) is truly a gift. Thank you!

 God bless you all, dear friends!

11 Responses to “No Words Spoken”

  1. manggy July 25, 2008 at 9:08 am #

    Haha, it doesn’t take that much kindness– I love reading this blog and having a peek into your life and insights 🙂 Thanks so much for the award! Yeah, if only it were that easy to make friends…

    For what it’s worth, you already have this old lola‘s friendship. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  2. FXSmom July 25, 2008 at 2:38 pm #

    aaahhhh….i love that he made a friend 🙂

    He melts my heart, this young one of mine. ~♥Kittymama

  3. megamomph July 25, 2008 at 10:56 pm #

    Thank you, thank you, thank you for doing the tag, my friend! Why is it so much easier for kids to make friends? Why shouldn’t it be so easy?

    Oo nga, but my experiences as a child were so different. 😦 I’m glad that despite Alphonse’s difficulties, there are people who have their hearts open for him, no judgments. ~♥Kittymama

  4. mixednuts July 26, 2008 at 4:06 am #

    That is a cute story. Children truly see the beauty around always.

    I agree, and it takes one beautiful soul to see past my son’s autism, his strange mannerisms, and his lack of speech. To have kindness come from someone who has had least kindness in his life is an amazing affirmation that perhaps, there is good in man still, and it comes from a child’s heart. ~♥Kittymama

  5. caryn July 26, 2008 at 5:41 am #

    i smiled at your account of your son and his ‘friend’ that was sweet. i do wish making friends were that easy 😉

    The more I think of it, the more I wonder- why shouldn’t it be easy? After all, all it takes is a kind word and a hand extended in friendship. As you have done… Thank you! ~♥Kittymama

  6. odette July 26, 2008 at 11:56 am #

    ohh, thank you very much for sharing the love kittymama! i can feel it from here, many many miles away from you!

    Hugs to keep you warm, Odette! ~♥Kittymama

  7. odette July 26, 2008 at 11:58 am #

    and may i just add that your son is one kind tender soul.

    Thank you for your kindness, Odette. All the bad news about autism (and unruly behavior, aggression, tantrums that go with it) have somehow eclipsep the good things about it. We forget that these children have no concept of prejudice or intolerance, and for all the challenges they face in their lives, they do not like or dislike people base on appearance, color, abilities, or economic status. ~♥Kittymama

  8. Gracey July 29, 2008 at 10:28 am #

    I also wish that friendships were that easy. I like that story of your son and the boy. I’m smiling thinking about them. 🙂

    Thank you, dear Okasaneko, for the love. I wish you more Kitty love and happiness!!

    Thank you! I too am grateful for the friendship, Gracey! ~♥Kittymama

  9. Casdok July 31, 2008 at 6:23 am #

    Yes i too wish friendships were that easy.
    Thank you so much for your kind words. Blogging does make a difference.

    Yes, it does. Thank you too for the friendship. ~♥Kittymama

  10. julie July 31, 2008 at 9:29 am #

    Yes, how we wish making friends is that easy, uncomplicated. My two younger children do not look at these children, I don’t understand why,maybe they feel “guilty” seeing them, I am not sure.

    Maybe they do. It’s not always easy to look at other’s lives, especially those who are less privileged than ours. Maybe there’s a sense of helplessness too. ~♥Kittymama

  11. susan senator August 1, 2008 at 7:57 am #

    Bless you, Kittymama! Your sweetness goes a long way.

Leave a Reply

