Blown Away

30 Jul

I’m listening to Daughtry over iTunes right now, trying to relive the hype and buzz of a Daughtry concert. A and I were at the Eastwood Central Plaza last night to catch Daughtry’s one-night performance. While A and I are normally not rock-loving people (well, just the Guitar Hero-rockin’ kind, ahem), we both enjoy Daughtry’s music, and well, let’s just say that last night was a good excuse as any to rock out with the best of them.

We got to Eastwood at quarter of eight. Traffic was bad at the Libis area; it took us over 45 minutes to navigate the stretch of road from Katipunan Avenue to Eastwood City. With barely 15 minutes left before the concert started, we found a nifty parking spot, jumped from the car, and made it just in time to check out if we were late. And not having enough time for a decent sit-down dinner, we settled for the nearest fastfood diner nearest the venue (KFC- and oops, my mind is going in a different track now, but has anyone noticed how their logo of the Colonel is different than the other KFCs?), swallowed without chewing much (let the stomach acids do all the work, ouch!), and rushed back to to claim our seats in the VIP section at 8:05 p.m. I silently berated myself for being five minutes late as I sat down to a still almost-empty section. Tsk…tsk…tsk…

 (8:45 pm, just passing the time)

The concert started late, as always; then again, when has a concert in our country ever started on time? I was a little miffed; plastic seats are not known to come in friendly orthopedic styles and are not exactly kind to behinds. Also, I could have used the extra hour to order real food. I could have even done with more chewing. Still, when the lights went down, all thought of sore butts, aching joints, and growling tummies were laid to rest. It was time to rock!

   

The crowd goes wild!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pictures taken with a SE W960i, so they’re not as good as those taken with a dedicated digital camera. My bad, I forgot to recharge my camera. 😦

 

 

 

 

 

An hour and a half later, I felt like I had done Guitar Hero and Wii Fit at the same time. I was also almost deaf, haha. People jumped and screamed and shrieked and yelled and tore their hair out (okay, the last one’s an exaggeration), and it was hard to resist the same excitement and delight. Chris Daughtry certainly made me feel very young.

On the way back to the car, A and I took a detour to have a night cap of sorts. It’s my favorite shot of the entire night: me and ice cream. Dairy Queen, you had me at hello!

 

P.S. Just found out that Daughtry’s “What I Want” is included in Guitar Hero: On Tour for the Nintendo DS, which gives me another reason to save for the $49.99 game and attachment. (See picture below.)

 

8 Responses to “Blown Away”

  1. manggy July 30, 2008 at 7:25 am #

    My personal favorite from that season is Elliott Yamin, heh 🙂 But Daughtry’s not bad either, just not my thing, for the most part. But I know of the pandemonium– I watched a Switchfoot concert last year and it was one of the best things I’ve seen, ever.

    DAIRY QUEEN! Oh, how I’ve missed you so. It looks like Trinoma’s one of the last ones standing. I need to keep it alive!

    I hear the GH:OT game is a little cumbersome and painful; you might consider reading some of the reviews before the purchase 🙂

  2. Kittymama July 30, 2008 at 7:44 am #

    Mine was Taylor Hicks (Did you watch him when he came over for free concerts at Trinoma and Greenbelt?) but I do have a soft spot for Elliott Yamin too (I missed him when he came to the country, though). I used to think that Chris Daughtry was just an overblown act but his album has convinced me otherwise. I just wished Taylor and Elliott made just a big a splash as Chris did.

    I’m with you on DQ! I am absolutely crazy over it! Think I’ll make a shirt that says “Support DQ Trinoma” just for us, hehe. What’s your favorite blizzard?

    Sige, will definitely read the reviews. A has been discouraging me too, saying that we ought to get Rock Band na lang when it comes out for the Wii late this year. (I didn’t get Rock Band for Xbox360 kasi, because the Xbox is Alex’s console and he has too many games as it is. Now he’s begging *puppy dog eyes* for a PS3, yikes!)

    Nice to catch you online, my friend!

  3. leirs July 30, 2008 at 8:59 am #

    I love DQ my fave will always be Banana Split.. YUMMY!!!!

    I love mud pie but I also love strawberry and bananas. The peppermint one they had last Christmas was yummy but the mint gave me stomachaches. 😦 ~♥Kittymama

  4. manggy July 31, 2008 at 2:48 am #

    Ah, don’t worry about Elliott. He is I believe the most successful third place finisher and as an independent artist he’s broken a lot of records. Which would make Daughtry the most successful fourth place finisher without a doubt. Katharine McPhee did well for a while too, so that season turned out to be a success. I dunno about Taylor, he’s fun but his own recording company off the bat did not seem too interested in promoting him, which is sad.

    My favorite blizzard is chocolate cherry or banana split 🙂 (I don’t like nuts kasi…) But usually I order an actual banana split or the sundae (pineapple, strawberry, or chocolate).

    Oh nooo, what would he need a PS3 for?! Final Fantasy 13 is coming out for the XBox! Ha ha ha. I think Rock Band will be lots of fun for the family, that’s definitely going to be a good purchase 🙂

  5. Kittymama July 31, 2008 at 5:27 am #

    Yeah, Taylor had such great promise, but then again, the demographics of his audience run into the older soul crowd, which is notorious for NOT actually buying music. Maybe that’s why he’s not hitting it too well in terms of actual records sales. He’s still my favorite though, and the salt-and-pepper thing with his hair (sort of like my A) has got my thumbs up.

    Nuts! You hate nuts? Me thinks they’re the most glorious things on earth, next to ice cream, barbecued ribs, thick, juicy medium rare steaks, pasta carbonara… ah, well, we’re kinda nutty about nuts here at home. At least you love DQ! That’s one pogi point for you again. Hehe.

    When’s FF13 coming out? This’ll buy me a few months before he whines about a PS3 again. 🙂 Thanks for the tip!

    P.S. Bad news, Alex’s Xbox just displayed the Red Ring of Death. What to do? What to do?

  6. FXSmom July 31, 2008 at 6:04 pm #

    Daughtry is amazing!! Totally one of my faves 🙂

    I never thought he’d be so cool. He actually grew on me, imagine that! Glad we have like him both! ♥Kittymama

  7. manggy August 2, 2008 at 1:59 am #

    I like munching on nuts, but not in my ice cream!
    Oooh, FF13 won’t be out for a looong while. Ditto for Street Fighter 4 if he is so inclined. Pero sabay lang sila ng PS3, so wala ding point 🙂
    You can take the XBox to the seller, see if they have repair services. If not, there’s at least a few shops in Greenhills (V-Mall/ Shoppesville Plus) that do the repair for at least P2,500. It’s happened to me– twice already! It’s in the shop (the seller’s) as we speak. BILL GATES!!! (Shakes fist)

    Just had me mango and almonds blizzard the other day, yummy! I spent half the time munching on nuts. And their blizzard cake (still have half on the ref, if you want some, hehe) is heavenly!
    Thanks for the tip on repairing the xbox. Ang malas ko nga, eh. My microwave and mixer died on me too. The Krups multimixer is already in the shop; the microwave is going in today. They say misfortune comes in three’s so counting the xbox, I’ve already completed my quota of woe; I’m crossing my fingers my appliances and consoles stay healthy this time. ~♥Kittymama

  8. Charelle August 3, 2008 at 7:51 am #

    Hello Kittymama! 🙂 I was supposed to watch Daughtry as well, but my exams are near. 😦 So, yeah. 😐 Anyway, I hope you had fun! =))

    Sayang, I would have loved to meet you in person, dearie. 🙂 But, yes, I had fun, especially with the ice cream treat at the end. I think all concerts should end with ice cream! Hugs to you! ~♥Kittymama

Leave a Reply

