Just Because

31 Jul

A took these out from his pocket a few nights ago and handed them over to me without a word.

Four Hello Kitty pens, a pink nail clipper (now attached to my housekeys) and a small metal sliding-top box for medicines or trinkets

“What are these for, honey?” I asked him.

“Nothing, they’re just some things I thought you’d like,” he answered.

“Why?” 

“Just because,” his voice trails off as he kisses me lightly on the lips.

 My heart turns to mush.

I play with the pens for a while. I hang the clipper to my keys (you never know when Alphonse might need a trim). I like the box best as I think about transferring my carry-on first aid items to this box.

“Honey, did you notice Kitty’s nose is not yellow?” I try to make more small talk as A slips off his office barong.* He stops what he is doing and looks at me.

“Is her nose supposed to be yellow?”

“U-huh. She might have a stuffy nose in this one, it’s all black!” I giggled like a mababaw na person (mababaw translates to shallow, but the vernacular sounds more apt) .

A asks to look at the box and gives out a groan as he turns it over.

“What?” I asked.

“This.”

It’s okay, honey, I love it anyway.

~0~

*Thirty second lesson on the Philippines: a barong is an embroidered dress shirt of the Philippines; for office use, linen is the cloth of choice but for a formal affair, the choice of cloth would be delicate fabric made from pineapple, banana, or abaca fibers

9 Responses to “Just Because”

  1. leirs July 31, 2008 at 1:28 am #

    its so funny… pero sweet pa rin ni A..

    Oo nga, I hope he never changes… ~♥Kittymama

  2. manggy July 31, 2008 at 2:43 am #

    Hey, it makes for a great conversation piece. Holle!
    A is so sweet! Not very observant, but sweet! hee hee 🙂

    Yeah, when A comes home each evening, I greet him with a loud “Holle!” He’ll never live this down, hehe. ~♥Kittymama

  3. Willa July 31, 2008 at 5:12 am #

    so cute!

    Hi, Willa! Thank for dropping by my site! I am hopping over to yours right now. Happy day!♥Kittymama

  4. julie July 31, 2008 at 9:18 am #

    Holle Kitte 😀

    Heehee! Holle! 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  5. odette July 31, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    holle kitte made me laugh too, but what a sweet thought! it’s not always i see men buy hello kitty stuffs, so i think that’s really wonderful of your husband to do it! 🙂

    Thank you, Odette. I think it’s mighty sweet of him too! ~♥Kittymama

  6. Gracey July 31, 2008 at 4:00 pm #

    lol.. awww, he’s sweet though!!!

    Verrrrryyyyy! ~♥Kittymama

  7. hellokittyjunkie August 4, 2008 at 11:36 pm #

    lol! Cute! It’s the thought that counts anyways… And now you have an awesome story to tell your friends. 😉

    That’s what I tell A but he still blushes deep red when we all shout “holle!” ~♥Kittymama

  8. hello kitty kat August 5, 2008 at 3:44 pm #

    Totes cute!

    Thank you! 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  9. Alex August 13, 2008 at 1:03 pm #

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

