Girls In My Circle

5 Aug

Dedicated to my girl friends:

     My mother, my first best friend,

     Cocok, my best friend since grade school at the ‘knoll,   

     Cynthia, my best friend in high school at Pisay,

     Helen and Gaylie, my best friends in med school,

     Jasmine and Joee, my sisters and second mothers to my children,

     Joyce, my baby sister-in-law (although she’s no longer a baby),

     Ampy, my baby cousin (she’s no longer a baby too) who is Alphonse’s adored aunt and teacher, 

     Ondine, wife of our (A’s and mine’s) high school buddy Jun, and my dearest kumare

     Leirs, my kumare (we sealed the bond online, can you imagine that?)

     Megamom, my high school classmate with whom I shared the Abominable Snowman experience (*wink*) and newly-rediscovered friend (see, we’re making up for lost time)

     And to all the women who have shown me kindness, compassion, and friendship: Casdok, Susan, Maddy, Babs, Cris, Beth, Julie, Mari, Odette, Gracey, Vivi, Esi, Dee, Allen, Nancy, Shirley, this one’s for you!

 

When I was little,
I used to believe in the concept of one best friend,
And then I started to become a woman.
And then I found out that if you allow your heart to open up,
God would show you the best in many friends.

One friend is needed when you’re going through things with your man.
Another friend is needed when you’re going through things with your mom.
Another will sit beside you in the bleachers as you delight in your children and their activities.
Another when you want to shop, share, heal, hurt, joke, or just be.

One friend will say, ‘Let’s cry together,’
Another, ‘Let’s fight together,’
Another , ‘Let’s walk away together.’

One friend will meet your spiritual need,
Another your shoe fetish,
Another your love for movies,
Another will be with you in your season of confusion,
Another will be your clarifier,
Another the wind beneath your wings.

But whatever their assignment in your life,
On whatever the occasion,
On whatever the day,
Or wherever you need them to meet you with their gym shoes on and hair pulled back,
Or to hold you back from making a complete fool of yourself ..
Those are your best friends.

It may all be wrapped up in one woman, but for many, it’s wrapped up in several..
    
     One from 7th grade,
     One from high school,
     Several from the college years,
     a couple from old jobs,
     On some days your mother,
     On some days your neighbor,
     On others, your sisters,
     And on some days, your daughters.
So whether they’ve been your friend for 20 minutes or 20 years,
AND ONLY IF YOU’D LIKE TO,
Pass this on to the women that God has placed in your life to make a difference.
  

  

11 Responses to “Girls In My Circle”

  1. manggy August 5, 2008 at 8:35 am #

    Shucks, I’ve just walked into the Divine Sisterhood of the Traveling Ya-Ya Pants! Hee hee, I’m just kidding… I have never watched those movies. I wonder how many of my friends I’m destined to grow old with? (The last pic is somewhat making me think.)
    Pisay pala kayo ni Megamom, cool 🙂

    I would have thought you’d have said “Pisay pala kayo ni Megamom, nerds!” Heehee! And we are, really! 🙂
    I like how the friendships that we made through blogging are entirely of our own volition, nothing forced, nothing artificial. And so I look forward to growing old with the people (not just the girls in my circle) who honor me with their friendship, amd you are definitely included. ~♥Kittymama

  2. Charelle August 5, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    -sniff- I wonder if I will still be best friends with my current friends in college? :(( I hope so! I don’t think I can live without them! Since they’re all that I have! Next to my parents ofcourse. 😐 :))

    Judging from how you and Alexa are inseparable, I think you’ll stay friends forever. Cocok was my classmate in grade school but we’re still very close today (it helps that she’s a psychiatrist who can understand my crazy moods, eek), never mind that we were separated in high school and college. Same with my other friends. 🙂 And don’t say that they’re all you have because you have us too- your weird Kitty aunt and her pesky Panda son. I think you’ve become part of our circle too. ~♥Kittymama

  3. leirs August 5, 2008 at 11:11 am #

    Awww mare i’m super touched..i love this post. Ako din i don’t have a particular best friend. I have best friends.. how sweet it is to have someone like you.

    Friendships are amazing things! When I think about how you’re like sooo many years younger than me, how we’ve never met in person in the years we’ve known each other (around three years?), how natural it is to gab on the phone for hours, and now we’re official kumares, I am dumbfounded! Thanks for the friendship, mare! 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

    P.S. I already saw Adrienne’s invite and it’s for a Hello Kitty party! I’m definitely going!

  4. MegaMom August 5, 2008 at 11:58 am #

    Thanks so much for this dedication, KittyMama! Nice art, reminds me of Botero’s fat girls, hehe…
    Haha, that abominable experience keeps creeping out of the woodwork, doesn’t it. Baka makarating. 😀

    “Pisay pala kayo ni Megamom, cool” – Manggy
    Golly, I wonder if he really meant the “cool” in that sentence. Haha!

    I love Fernando Botero’s fat girls paintings and they were exactly what I thought of when I received this from my friend Cocok. It was as this was meant exactly for me!

    As for the A.S. (okay, let’s whittle his coded name a little more) experience (whoa!), aren’t you glad that we share this unique experience? Someday, when we’re old and gray, we can look back on this and say “A.S was a j***!” and laugh to our heart’s content. I am soo looking forward to sharing that day with you! :-)~♥Kittymama

  5. FXSmom August 5, 2008 at 5:42 pm #

    Ahhhh. How cool is this. I LOVE it!!! 🙂

    Me too! Me too! ~♥Kittymama

  6. odette August 6, 2008 at 4:13 pm #

    beautiful! makes me teary-eyed remembering my friends back home, they’ve been with me for more than 10 years already. thanks for making me part of your circle kittymama, i am enjoying your company! i’ll sure share this in my blog. thank you!

    You’re welcome, Odette! This blogging experience has been quite a ride, really, and made so memorable by the friends I’ve made along the way. I guess I’ll never look at another handcrafted object without thinking of you and Gracey, and that to me is a sign that you’ve both made an incredible impact in my life. Thank you! ~♥Kittymama

  7. cokiebokie August 7, 2008 at 3:34 am #

    Love you mare! I pray you’ll get the chance to visit. 🙂

    Love you too! Cross your fingers and you may see me before you know it! ~♥Kittymama

  8. julie August 7, 2008 at 7:53 am #

    Thank you very much.

    this just shows that friendship brings out the best in us as we become friends with a diverse set of people 🙂

    So, when can we have that lunch already 😀

    Hindi mo ko iniinvite sa blogging mommas food dates ninyo, eh! Nah, joke, but seriously, I still owe Megamom a date too, so one of these days, when my life is less crazy, we will definitely make that date. ~♥Kittymama

  9. mari August 8, 2008 at 5:19 pm #

    hahaha! true! true! i have a specific girlfriend for beauty stuff, mommyhood, relationships, kidstuff, etc!
    i think i saw you in herword.com 🙂

    Ngek! You did? 🙂

    I used to think that having a single best friend was the ideal but when you realize it, friendships multiply your blessings, so why not add more? Thank you for being one of mine. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  10. Vivi August 12, 2008 at 7:14 am #

    aww… i only got to read this now. *teary-eyed* thanks tukayo! 😉
    i hope we’d be able to meet-up soon, probably on the next sanrio sale… (eherm! bday coming soon. heheh) 😉
    it’s really nice meeting “similarly sensible” people like you. whatever that means. hahaha! 🙂

    Awww…basta terno tayo, hehe! ~♥Kittymama

  11. Nancy February 3, 2009 at 3:17 pm #

    Six months after your post, yeah, only now, that I came across this blog of yours and I’m touched that it was also dedicated to me. Thanks Kittymama – it was indeed an honor for me to belong in your “Girls in my Circle”.

    Through here I also realized and I don’t mean to be “selective” of who to be friends with, allow me quote two lines up there – “But whatever their assignment in your life,…” we should be sensitive and aware about their real assignment/presence in our lives and vice versa.
    Because that way, we can help each other to bring out the best in our respective friendships. After all, “Those are your best friends.”

    Can you be the official Ninang of Callie?

    From the sentimental me, maraming salamat!

Leave a Reply

