The Kitty Business

14 Aug

I’ve been meaning to post new pictures of my Kitty purchases. The pictures are not complete; I chose only the pieces that I really, really like. My seller-friends know what I got from them, and that’ll have to remain between them and myself. (Procrastination excused!) But I wanted to share some, because they’re just so darned beautiful or because as simple as they are, they brought so much joy to Alphonse and myself.

This is a denim visor I got from AJ a few months back. Alphonse picked out the blue one himself. I think he thinks he looks cool in it. 🙂

These are new bookends I got from Vivi and they go very well in my bookshelf. But wait…

Alphonse loves the vibrating Kitty strawberry toy Vivi sent as a gift! See the smile on his face? Suddenly, my purchases all seemed rather unimportant. How much is Alphonse’s smile? Absolutely priceless. Thank you, dear Vivi! 

This is Alphonse’s favorite clock from Nancy (it goes very well with his Kitty timer). For now, it hangs in our room while it awaits a permanent place in what will be Alphonse’s work area. The classic red and apple Kitties are his favorite. Most touching of all, Nancy and Vivi wrote Alphonse short notes which I have read to him. I know he loves being remembered and thought of. 🙂

Now, this is my current favorite, a scientific calculator which I got on a clearance sale at Nancy’s. I’ve been dreaming of this for quite a time (it was quite expensive in other sites) and I was fortunate to have snagged this before anyone else did. Now, I’m looking for another one for Sweeney, who I think will be able to use this in her high school algebra and trigonometry classes. Oh, I do hope I find another one!

And for my Oriental-inspired living room, here are my newest add-ons:

a pair of gorgeous Kitties from Allen to watch over Akemi, my Japanese baby doll

a lucky manekineko gold plush from Gift Gate

 

and an elegant Japanese Kitty from AJ

I don’t have a specific room to house my Kitty collection. More often than not, you’ll find her here and there, scattered in the different corners of my home, proof of how she has insinuated herself into my life. Each piece reminds me of something, of Alphonse’s smile as he looks at Hello Kitty tenderly, of Alex’s clumsy but ultimately successful attempts to worm himself into my good side (a mommy bribe, he calls it), and of A’s willingness to sacrifice his own interests and desires just to accommodate mine. It’s not so much as the Kitties but the story behind them. And that story is always about love.

8 Responses to “The Kitty Business”

  1. Vivi August 14, 2008 at 12:31 pm #

    aww… i love his smile as he holds the vibrating kitty! 😉 my brother similarly likes “buzzing” toys or things he can gently clip on his finger (like a clothes clip), so i was betting Alphonse would love that as well. 😉
    thanks sis! :*

    Thank you, too, Vivi! It’s not often that people reach out to Alphonse in total kindness, and these rare times are truly something to appreciate and behold. ~♥Kittymama

  2. manggy August 14, 2008 at 12:43 pm #

    Hah, a “mommy bribe.” That’s so funny. Thanks for sharing, Kittymama 🙂 I recall my aunt’s (dad’s sister’s) room in the province was filled wall-to-wall with Holle Kitte stuff. I’m not 100% sure they rescued it after the mudslides buried the house.

    Oh, ah, I’m going on a treasure hunt! (Yup,my Kitty addiction’s that bad. I’d be willing to dig through mud for Holle Kitte!)
    And yes, I still do fall for “mommy bribes.” Makes my life sweeter…~♥Kittymama

  3. kath August 14, 2008 at 3:35 pm #

    Hello sis:

    I have a calcu that u want, pls check the school/office supplies album. Thanks. Good luck to ur biz..

    Thank you for pointing me to the calculator site, sis. will check it out… ~♥Kittymama

  4. Casdok August 14, 2008 at 11:07 pm #

    Wow what an impressive collection.
    But that smile says it all. As you say it’s not often that people reach out to our children, but when they do it truly is something.

    Thank you, Casdok! I’ve been lucky, I guess, running into people who have open hearts and minds. I just wish there were more of them around so that we don’t have to look very hard before we find another kind heart. ~♥Kittymama

  5. mari August 15, 2008 at 12:57 am #

    when did you start collecting hello kitty? i love the kittys in kimono. they’re so cute!

    I’ve been collecting since I was a little child, but only very, very seriously when I had kids. Now, I am seriously addicted. (But don’t tell my husband that. Heehee. Oops, I think he knows!)
    I try to find “useful” Kitties, but well, every now and then, it’s fun to have a purposeless,cute Kitty too. ~♥Kittymama

  6. odette August 16, 2008 at 5:45 pm #

    beautiful collections! and beautiful stories behind them! hello kitty brings the family much closer eh?!

  7. cynch December 24, 2008 at 2:08 am #

    super love the manekineko plush =)

  8. yooola February 6, 2009 at 5:28 am #

    awww…reminds me of my hubby…”his willingness to sacrifice his own interests and desires just to accomodate mine”….aww how sweet! wish i’d be like you when i reach your age, still so much in love with hello kitty!!!!!

Leave a Reply

