Blog Disease Is Catching

19 Aug

I think I got it, this thing called Blog Disease. Because when I woke up Tuesday morning with a nasty, tender rash on my abdomen, the first thing I thought of was “Holy cow! I can blog about this!” How weird was that?

And now that the nasty, tender rash has evolved into something more serious- a nasty, tender cellulitis of the abdomen (fat makes for a lovely human petri dish for bacterial incubation) which needs massive doses of antibiotics, I’m still having second thoughts about NOT posting pictures of my striae (better known as stretch marks), all angry red and swollen. It’s a good thing my better nature won, else, my abdomen’s pictures would probably have ended in some dermapathology website. Blog disease, indeed! 

I ran into the term “Blog Disease” on The Clare-Panton Family’s website, where the symptoms of the illness are described as:

1. You are excited when anyone visits your blog.

2. You visit random blogs hoping to get tips on how to make the blog more interesting to just about anyone.

3. You are excited when your blog visits enter double digits/day.

4. You are excited when people you don’t know visit your blog.

5. You are excited when your monthly traffic hits triple digits after only 2 months and grows each month.

6. You are excited when someone leaves a comment on your blog.

7. You are sooooo excited you giggle when someone else’s blog (my sister) links to your blog.

8. You are soooooooo excited you dance around the kitchen when someone else’s blog (that you don’t even know) links to your blog in their text and even thanks you for leaving a comment.

I think I should add a number 9: “You are soooo excited when something happens in real life that you can blog about.” In my case, what is actually an embarrassing skin infection in real life has turned into a legitimate blog post, complete with hyperlinks. Now, how cool is that? 🙂

Despite my attempts to convince A that Blog Disease is a real illness that merits worthy attention and action, I am unable to convince him to let me stay longer in front of the computer to write. For now, I am obeying my loving husband’s wishes for me to take a short break to rest and recuperate. I am “stealing” Internet time while A is asleep to update you, dear friends. And please, don’t worry; I am getting a little better, although sitting for long still makes my abdomen hurt like it’s been ran over by a truck. So before A shuffles me to the hospital for not following doctor’s orders (bed rest, strict antibiotic compliance, and some major painkillers to ease the pain), I better go back to bed and sleep.

But before I go, there are two things I need to do:

First, I want to wish my dearest friend Cocok a Happy Birthday on the 19th. We are oceans apart, dear friend, but we will always be sisters of the heart. Love you always, Cok!

 To dearest Cocok, with love from A and P

And I wanted to post a picture of Hello Kitty’s newest fan, a lovely 10-month old baby girl who happens to be my godchild. Her name is Adrianne (her parents call her Adee) and already, she takes after her godmother with her fascination for Hello Kitty.

Adee is unique in my list of godchildren because her mother and I sealed our godparent pact online. I’ve never met Leirs in person and it’s not because of lack of trying. Whenever we try to set a meeting, it never pans out, so these days, I am all for going with the flow. Hopefully, when Adee turns one on October 19, I will be able to meet her and her parents and celebrate with the rest of the family.       

With this, I bid you all a temporary farewell. Until next week, dear friends… Or until Blog Disease rears its ugly head again, whichever comes first.

12 Responses to “Blog Disease Is Catching”

  1. odette August 19, 2008 at 9:25 am #

    wow, what a story! you became friends and kumare online! 🙂
    that’s wonderful, look where blogging is taking us all!

    i’m a certified blogging addict too. no cure for it, but i don’t mind. i like the disease very much! 🙂

  2. manggy August 19, 2008 at 10:13 am #

    I’m not sure about the giggling and dancing, but I’m pretty sure I have a mild form of the blog disease 😛
    Bummer about the cellulitis. Get thee to bed to crank up the immune system (okay, there’s no evidence or whatever, but still)! Get well really soon!

  3. Ness August 19, 2008 at 8:54 pm #

    Kitty Mama,

    Hawang-hawa na ako. heehee.

    Get well soonest!

  4. leirs August 19, 2008 at 9:12 pm #

    Mare, get well soon!!! ganda naman nung picture nung bata na yun kanina kaya nag mana hahahaha!!!

  5. kokegulper August 19, 2008 at 9:31 pm #

    Got this disease too…and the disease that results from this disease, like a tendonitis exacerbated by to much blogging…I dont have any name for it, but carpal tunnel syndrome seem so advance…..hahahaha

  6. caryn August 19, 2008 at 10:08 pm #

    OMG. i can so totally relate to this. i think i have it too! 😉

  7. FXSmom August 19, 2008 at 11:14 pm #

    u crack me up 😆
    (but i can relate too)

  8. KC's Mommy August 21, 2008 at 2:54 am #

    I am afflicted as well lol. It is spreading into the blogosphere it appears!

    Your little boy is so ADORABLE!

  9. julie August 21, 2008 at 1:56 pm #

    KittyMama, consider this a symptom: when the topic of your conversation would be about what you have read in blogs

    You start like this: “Do you know that….?” then when asked why one knows such info, “I have read that in _____’s blog”

    That is real-life linking 😀

    Don’t ask why I know 😉

  10. megamomph August 26, 2008 at 12:50 am #

    Haha, KittyMama, I’m laughing about the giggling over having something to blog about, even when it’s something potentially gross like cellulitis!
    That’s a nice story about your “virtual” godchild. I hope you do get to see her someday soon.

  11. joannar August 26, 2008 at 5:58 pm #

    We all are afflicted.

  12. sandrar September 10, 2009 at 9:18 pm #

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

