Off With My Head! (Or From Princess To Queen, All In One Day)

28 Aug

For a few minutes yesterday at lunch, I was a queen dressed up in the fashion of Henry VIII’s reign. I should have expected it when the invitation for the advanced screening of HBO’s The Tudors landed on my hands. It was just the kind of kooky and fun thing the creative people behind Virtusio Public Relations would have up their sleeve. And really, as a  prelude to the screening, it was a perfect way to break the ice with a group of journalists.

I had some misgivings at first with the heavy period costume, with its faux fur collar and sleeves, layers of petticoats, and heavy satin lining; besides, I did not relish the idea of dressing up, only to be decapitated. 🙂 After a while, however, I started to enjoy the lavishness and outrageousness of the costume. I mean, how often in one’s life does one get the chance to be a queen, if only for a few minutes? Before I knew it, I felt immensely royal and, ehrm, queenly. I was also seized with this sudden urge  to command people around.

“Let them eat cake!” I wanted to scream. (Oops, I channeled the wrong queen; that’s Marie Antoinette.*) 

“I will make you shorter by the head!” (Still the wrong queen; that’s Elizabeth I, daughter of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn. I am a history nut.)

I was brought back to earth when I was introduced to the wonderful Ms. Karen Lai, Director for Communications for HBO. Over a sumptuous repast, I also had the privilege to exchange a few thoughts with Mr. Romy Virtusio, the man himself, the force behind Virtusio Public Relations. He is a thoroughly engaging man, with a quick wit and a very unassuming manner that makes one feel instantly at home with him.

After lunch, we headed to the theater, free popcorn and drinks in hand. We were shown the first two episodes of The Tudors and I must say that despite some awfully large liberties with history, this series is sure to catch the public’s imagination. Too bad they only have it on HBO Signature for now (starts September 10). I think I’ll ask A to buy for me the complete first season boxed set at Amazon (retails $20.99) so I don’t have to wait while Skycable Platinum finds its way into my area.

In the league of Henry’s Queens? 

The wives of King Henry VIII plus one: Queen’s photos from http://www.eriding.net/media/tudors.shtml#3a

At the end of the screening, we were asked to vote which of the people who had their pictures taken as King or Queen would be awarded King Henry and Queen Anne (Boleyn) for the day. Votes for the King were unanimous, but the Queens slugged it out neck and neck. Alas, I should have voted for myself because I lost by only one point. Boohoo! 

Still, I have have no regrets. When I got home late afternoon, I still felt very much like a Queen, surrounded by a retinue of gorgeous men (three, to be exact, heehee) who obeyed my every beck and call. Pondering upon the fates of Henry VIII’s queens, I realized, however, that perhaps I must exercise more discretion with all the commanding and summoning and beckoning that I do. For indeed, the last thing I want is to suffer a tragic fate like this:

photo of headless Anne Boleyn doll from http://joycestahl.blogspot.com/2008/05/ghosts-and-pumpkins.html (Go visit this very creative, if a little morbid, site!)

For more gruesomely fascinating photos of decapitated Queen dolls, visit www.headlesshistoricals.com.

~0~

A thirty-second history lesson: “Let them eat cake!” is a statement often attributed to Marie Antoinette in the days leading to the French Revolution, but historical scrutiny has shown that this came from French philosopher Jean-Jacques Rousseau in his autobiographical book Confessions which was written in 1766. And in 1766, Marie Antoinette was only 10 years old, certainly too young to be married to Louis XVI. 

6 Responses to “Off With My Head! (Or From Princess To Queen, All In One Day)”

  1. leirs August 28, 2008 at 8:00 pm #

    Finally its coming here na.. I’ve heard so much about the Tudor’s.. Dun naman Showtime on Demand sya. Magaling yung Jonathan Rhys Meyers. I watched it once eh kaso naman when I watched nataon na may sex scene I had to turn it off and switch channels kasi katabi ko si Joshwa di ko na nabalikan.Have you ever seen that movie the Other Boleyn Girl??? Di ko napanood but it looked interesting.

    I’ve read the book by Philippa Gregory but I have yet to watch the movie. Yes, The Tudors does have a lot of steamy sex scenes but HBO in the country shows very little of those more controversial parts. The Tudors is not for kids, I agree. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  2. manggy August 28, 2008 at 10:10 pm #

    Anong Amazon? Hindi ma Metro Walk? KIDDING! I do not condone such activity 😉 You look very regal, kulang lang siguro ng kaunting taray!

    I’ve never really been in costume but it must be great. I’ve long dreamed for some weird reason of being in full Scottish garb O_o

    “Anong Amazon? Hindi ma Metro Walk? KIDDING! I do not condone such activity ;)” Yeah, right. Let’s keep this between ourselves, okay? Hehe! 🙂

    Scottish garb? As in a white shirt, sash, tartan kilt, bagpipes, and no underwear?
    Me thinks this is most intriguing…. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  3. manggy August 29, 2008 at 9:15 am #

    Well, I have to keep it authentic! Sometimes a guy needs a little air. Oh, TMI!
    Not exactly the white shirt– I was thinking formal wear, with a blazer and kerchief too.

    Sounds very dashing… except for the no underwear part. Heehee! ~♥Kittymama

  4. FXSmom September 1, 2008 at 12:06 pm #

    I recently watched the movie, “The Other Boleyn Girl” which is about this part of history. I think I would pass on being one of his wives. Just having the FX gene is enough to lose my head. I kinda like it where it is at 😉

    Was the movie any good? I’ve read the book, though.

    I rather like my own King A here at home too. He doesn’t change wives. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  5. julie September 2, 2008 at 10:51 pm #

    You look regal KittyMama 🙂 Bagay sa iyo.

    I didn’t want to give back the costume na nga, eh. It was a lot of fun to make-believe. ~♥Kittymama

  6. odette September 3, 2008 at 5:32 am #

    i love costumes, but i’ve never been in one, well, not as regal as yours anyway. 🙂 looks like you had a grand time!

    I did, I did! Loved the furry costume thing! ~♥Kittymama

Leave a Reply

