Lost In Translation

3 Sep

(I’m getting really good with Photoshop, thanks to sites like this where I learn all sorts of cool things. The Star Wars background and R2D2 image and the hologram-making technique came from here; Hello Kitty C3PO from here. )

A good friend of mine whom I’ve reconnected with just recently over Facebook sent me a message about the name Okasaneko. I am glad that he shared his thoughts with me; he is, after all, quite fluent in the Japanese language as he took his doctorate studies at the Nagasaki University Medical School in Japan.

Here is what he told me:

“Okasan would translate to Mr. Oka.

“Okaasan (with a long second syllable) would be Mommy, or you could drop the honorific O and just   have Kaasan. Or much easier would be the third person form, HAHA. But HAHANEKO doesn’t really have the same ring to it does it? 🙂

“Just my 2 cents.”

And here is my reply:

“My tita (aunt) said the exact same thing, but I was going for more of the sound than the spelling. Oka, she says, means “hill,” but in the beginning, when I was starting my blog, everyone (meaning, people I know) read it as o-ka-a-san, with emphasis on the a-a, (read separately as ah-ah with the short a sound) as in a-a-sa-han of Filipino (I will hope). It (Okasan) was just easier on the ears but okaasan is indeed the correct form.

“Oh, at least you know the intent, and you can breathe easy that I do pronounce it with the long second syllable, heehee.

“Just my luck to run into a guy who took graduate studies in Nagasaki! (Actually, he took his doctorate degree there, in molecular virology! What a brain!)

“Thanks a lot! I miss bumping heads with brainy people. 🙂

~♥Kittymama

So, now, we know. Everyone, let’s try to read it the correct way so Kittymama does not turn into Mr. Hill- O-ka-sa-ne-ko (prolong the ka, please!).

Once again: O-ka-sa-ne-ko.

Thank you! Have a great Day!

4 Responses to “Lost In Translation”

  1. manggy September 3, 2008 at 2:07 pm #

    Oh, I always thought okasa = mom, neko = cat. Actually I don’t know, but a lot of cats in kiddie shows get called Neko, so I just figured it out for myself. I guess I was wrong!

  2. Kittymama September 3, 2008 at 2:23 pm #

    If you search the web, Okasan and Okaasan (formal) can both mean mother, although okaasan is the correct form. It just doesn’t roll over the tongue for most Filipinos who tend to pronounce the extra a. I’m sticking to Okasan, never mind that it’s not as good as the original form. 🙂

    P.S. What pasalubong did you get?

  3. megamomph September 4, 2008 at 12:23 am #

    Nice job on the hologram! Gosh I wish I had time to learn photoshop. I’m glad I have friends like you who make photoshop avatars for me, hehe…

    Regarding the language, I only know how to count to ten in Japanese, so I wouldn’t have known the diff between the two spellings. Haha!

    P.S. Am thinking of hosting the next TBR EB at home so Manggy can cook for us. He agreed! Yey!

    Count me in! I’m really getting tired of licking the computer monitor each time Mark posts something new and yummy. I think we ought to warn him that we shall be bringing big appetites then and portion control is definitely out of the question! Yay! ~♥Kittymama

  4. manggy September 4, 2008 at 1:15 pm #

    Teka teka! Pang small groups lang ako! Ha ha ha. I don’t think I can handle beyond six people 😉 (I tried… Too difficult, especially when they’re LATE and the food get COLD. P*@!@*!)

    I won’t be late! Promise! 🙂
    How about we make it some sort of potluck? You bring what you can (but I get first dibs), and we each contribute something we made (or bought, heehee). It definitely makes more sense that way. Unless Megamom will cook the entire thing herself- I know she’s also quite handy in the kitchen. :-)~ ♥KM

Leave a Reply

