Physics Of Life

8 Oct

I hope my son does not read this post (Pshew! He’s still preoccupied with his school projects, thank God!) as I do not condone or encourage truancy. But last week, well, last week was different. Alphonse was downed  by a severe sytemic viral illness that had us worried sick, and a few days later, perhaps from all that worrying, I followed suit. I would’ve taken pictures of the rashes in my face had I been imbued with a little more energy those days. And while I certainly tried to keep up with my household duties despite the fever, joint pains, headaches, and rashes, for the most part, I let my body recover, languishing in the warm feelings of playing hookey for a whole week.

A whole week. That to me was a slice of heaven.

Now that I am all better, I feel like inertia has set upon me. Newton’s First Law of Motion tells us that “a body at rest will stay at rest unless an outside force acts on it,” and truth to tell, I still wait for that outside force to lift me from the doldrums. I scan the horizon of my life and don’t seen anything remotely coming. And so I wait.

Tonight, however, I have to rouse myself from my stuporous half-life and walk out the door and be a real human being for a change. Tonight, my Alphonse will be left in excellent care while A and I indulge in family time with just Alex. This boy needs it, I can feel it. And despite the resistance my body feels, despite the wishy-washy half-sentiments about the whole thing, I need to force down the rising tide of panic I feel and be there for him and for A.  

Time to wake up, girl. You are your own external force.

5 Responses to “Physics Of Life”

  1. FXSmom October 8, 2008 at 2:25 am #

    oh man…that does not sound like a fun sickness!! I hope it gets better around there real soon 🙂

  2. NinJas! October 8, 2008 at 1:22 pm #

    You know, sis, i find that cheesecake is more than enough external force for me. I’m just sayin’…..

  3. manggy October 13, 2008 at 1:19 pm #

    Oh gosh, I’m so sorry to hear that. I hope Alphonse is okay by now. I think once you’ve enjoyed yourself spending time with Alex, your energy will follow suit. Take care, Kittymama xxoo

  4. odette October 14, 2008 at 5:14 pm #

    i hope you both are feeling okay now. take lotsa care, and i hope you and Alphonse be bouncing with energy soon!

  5. julie October 21, 2008 at 7:57 pm #

    Hope you are better 🙂

    There is this bug bugging people and making them sick. So how was it?

Leave a Reply

