The Answer

21 Nov

It’s a weird a little thing, this oddity is. Mark and Maria didn’t have a clue; Sandee thought it was a hairpiece, a ponytail holder, to be exact. Both Mari and Charelle thought it was a ring. (At least they were both close- it is used on a finger!)  And smart-aleck Alex thought of it as a pacifier of sorts, but couldn’t figure out how the garter strip goes around the baby’s head. 😦

Well, this is what it is:

guess-what-i-am-02

In this day and age of quick fixes, even just holding a stylus is apparently too much work. Hence, this contraption, which takes away the hassle of pulling the stylus out of its slot to use it and putting it right back. No one wants to be bothered during Nintendo DS time, certainly not those serious Japanese gamers who thought of this thing.

I don’t know what it is actually called (I just call it the finger stylus) and my aunt, who is fluent in Japanese (both written and oral) has yet to get back at me on this. When I do find out, I’ll be sure to let you know. In any case, if you fancy this DS helper, you can find it at a Japan Home Store for only PhP88.00. Happy playing and happy weekend, folks! 

5 Responses to “The Answer”

  1. Sandee Masigan November 21, 2008 at 8:10 pm #

    HARHARHAR! Now I’ve seen it all..LOL. Maybe I should get my daughter one…=)

    It’s a cute little thing- it does get a conversation going right away- but certainly not a lot better than a real stylus. Well, kids would like it for the novelty, I think. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  2. manggy November 21, 2008 at 9:02 pm #

    Oh! Ha ha ha. Hmm, tumatanda na yata ako. Oh well 😉 I think it’s not a very intuitive/organic design. Why not a thimble-shaped thing with a little nubbin at the tip? 🙂

    The garter strip lacks finesse, I agree, and maybe palstic and velcro would have been better. But hey, the thimble idea could work… a thimble with a nipple, heehee? ~♥Kittymama

  3. FXSmom November 22, 2008 at 8:01 am #

    i love that!! can you transform that into american dollars 😉

    Beth, at current exchange rates (of US$1= PhP50, well almost, give or take a few cents), this costs about US$1.75. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  4. Ness November 22, 2008 at 2:24 pm #

    ay mali!

  5. toni December 16, 2008 at 1:15 pm #

    I’m a huge DS player. This cracked me up. 😀

Leave a Reply

