Running For My Life

7 Jan

I woke up this morning resolved to commit myself to a daily run (well, ehr, more like a really, really brisk walk) but I stepped out to a gloomy, rainy, windy day. The cold weather has made me more ambitious about my exercise regimen of late; I like that I can stay longer outside these days.

On good weeks, I am able to go out thrice a week for my walks/runs. I walk or run alone, with my iPod as sole companion , but along the way, I’ve made some nodding acquaintances in my route. There’s this husband and wife team who jogs daily while holding on to oversized weights. I am amazed that they are able to keep a running conversation between them almost every time I see them. Every now and then, they acknowledge my presence and wave a chirpy hello, even as I wonder if they ever run out of things to say.

There’s also this fabulously fit lady who runs with an iPod shuffle and heart rate monitor attached to her arm, a pedometer on her foot,  and a cellphone in her waistband. She gives me a little smile every now and then, but mostly she keeps content monitoring her various gadgets as she dashes way ahead of me.

And then there’s this old man who runs in the briefest of running shorts that seem very likely to reveal parts left unseen that I am embarrassed to meet his eyes when he runs past me (notice the recurring theme of people running past me?).

I like to observe them as they run or walk about. They help make the 3.5 to 5 km I cover more interesting, and with the music of  Everything But the Girl, Basia, Sharon Cuneta, The Company and Christopher de Leon (I am still enamored with his “Awit Pelikula” album) in my ears, the distance seems almost bearable for my overweight, huffing body.

I like that I feel I am in control of my body, even as my weight has dropped off only slightly in the last few months. The weight I’ve gained since late 2006 is still a long way from being gone, but I feel more awake and more alive these days. And with Oprah confessing to having fallen off the wagon of weight control, I actually feel less guilty about regaining much of the 67 lbs I lost in 2004. When I feel the wind in my face, running-copy2I feel like I can just about do anything. It’s almost like a fresh start.

And so I don my running shoes, and my soggy sweats, and my Hello Kitty arm warmers, visor, and sunglasses. I sling my Hello Kitty bag over my shoulder, slip my pedometer on my right foot, and run. Run until my tongue hangs over my mouth. Until I can feel the blood pounding in my head. And then I take a deep breath and slow down to a brisk walk. When I feel less likely to pass out, I run again. In short bursts, I find I am able to run like the wind. And for the briefest moments, I am the wind.

9 Responses to “Running For My Life”

  1. NinJas! January 7, 2009 at 3:30 pm #

    (Why do I suddenly have a vision of Manong singing She’s Like the Wind while dirty dancing it up like The Swayze?)

    **gigglesnort**

    *shudders* ~♥Kittymama

  2. textlit January 7, 2009 at 4:09 pm #

    Hi Kitty Mama!

    Pareho tayo, I’ve started walking/jogging na rin. Let’s encourage each other ha para mas masaya ang pursuit of physical fitness natin! 🙂

    Oh, thank you! I’ll definitely need the extra encouragement! ~♥Kittymama

  3. odette January 7, 2009 at 4:48 pm #

    yay congratulations on the new exercise regime kittymama!
    i need to get moving too, because i’ve been sitting much inside the house this winter season and it makes me feel so lethargic!

    keep it up, you inspire me!

    Thanks, Odette! Your kind words always make my day. 🙂 Hugs to you and Kj! ~♥Kittymama

  4. Manggy January 7, 2009 at 9:02 pm #

    Yay! Keep it up Kittymama! Uh… Sa Ateneo ba ‘to? I’m thinking of all the good/safe places you can do this stuff in. I am amazed by the 67 pound feat– that takes a lot of willpower. I am sure you can do it again.
    Also, I’m sure that at least one of your “companions” will be blogging about the Hello Kitty lady circling the track with them! 😉

    Hiya, Mark! Hope the frigid weather’s agreeing with you there. Be well always!

    And nope, the picture wasn’t taken at the Ateneo, although I’ve also tried to walk/run at the AHS. I get conscious of the young people there though. I think I do better where old people congregate. That way, I’m never the slowest, heehee. Hugs! ~♥Kittymama

  5. FXSmom January 8, 2009 at 10:51 am #

    I’m with you but I’m walking indoors. It’s too cold for any outdoor exercise yet. I can’t wait for spring to come so I can though.

    Good luck and keep it up 🙂

    Thanks, Beth! It was raining these last few days so I had to bring some rain gear with me, but otherwise, the weather out here is great! Hope yours give way to some sun soon!~♥Kittymama

  6. drdraw January 8, 2009 at 10:14 pm #

    hey way to go kittymama!! alam ko kaya mo yan. good luck on the fitness regimen and on everything else!

    Ernest (aka DrDraw), ikaw pala yan!!!! Fancy meeting you out here again, dear friend. Thanks for dropping by my blog and for the encouragement. Sasabayan ko na talaga si Oprah, hehe! ~♥Kittymama

  7. leirs January 8, 2009 at 10:16 pm #

    Keep it up!! we’re all cheering for you..Run like the wind

    Thanks for the encouragement, Mare. Hugs! ~♥Kittymama

  8. awalkabout January 8, 2009 at 11:59 pm #

    Good for you! I’ve been pledging to start some kind of routine for weeks now. People like you kick my hind end!!! 🙂

    Oh, thank you, you’re much too kind. 🙂 I have to drag myself out of bed each day to move; exercise is not really my thing. Thank you for the encouragement. I’ll be thinking about them whenever my hiney gets too lazy to move again. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  9. julie January 22, 2009 at 6:49 pm #

    Ok ang full battle gear mo ah 😀 Is this in UP? The building behind you kinda looks like one of the buildings there.

    Congratulations, and I must say, I have long wanted to do that but there is nowhere I can take my walk near where we are.

    Keep it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

