World Autism Awareness Day

2 Apr

world-autism-day-02April 2 is World Autism Awareness Day and it could not have come soon enough.

In the last year alone, we have read and heard of cases of individuals with autism that have suffered injustices in the hands of a supposedly tolerant and accepting society. Cases such as the child “voted” out of kindergarten classroom, Survivor-style, referring, of course, to the popular reality television series that eliminates its constestants via popular vote; the child kicked off an airplane (and this is no longer an isolated case); the teenager who was turned away by his own church; the eight-year-old girl arrested at school for unruly behavior ; even the 12-year old boy who was tasered by the police. In the last few months alone, two teenage males with severe autism have been arrested for alleged murder. The day when our kids are seen as not only disabled BUT as serious threats to society seems closer each day now. This, despite our best efforts to find help and acceptance in this world for our children.

I have gone past the stage of wanting a cure for my own son and moving on to the point where all I want is acceptance and understanding.  If we could find more compassion in our hearts for those of us who have less in life, for those of us we see as “disabled” or even “damaged,” then we will go a long way into making awareness more than simply what it is. For to be aware is to be cognizant of truth- that while individuals with autism continuously face many challenges, they are no less human than any one of us. And they, too, deserve their place in the sun.

4 Responses to “World Autism Awareness Day”

  1. Gabrielle Bryden April 3, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    Another year later! Can I ask can I copy those autism advocacy logos you have in the right hand column?

    • Kittymama April 4, 2010 at 12:26 am #

      I’d be honored. May I request, however, that credit be given to the source (my blog) if you want to use my autism badges and logos? My sister and I worked on them for my son (he appears in the 3rd and 4th logo, whereas my eldest son is the kissing baby on the second). Thank you for coming to visit my blog!

  2. Gabrielle Bryden April 4, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    Gorgeous kids. Thanks – if I use them on my blog I’ll definitely credit you and link to your blog.

    • Kittymama April 6, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

      Oh, thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

