Concert Queen

30 May

I was cleaning up files this morning, organizing them in folders, deleting some, transferring the more important ones to my laptop, and saving the rest in CDs. The PC has been boggy of late; sometimes, it slows down considerably while making scary groaning and screeching sounds. Fearing that my files may be swallowed in the black hole of oblivion, I thought it best time to retrieve them before the inevitable crash comes.

I realized, while moving my digital album files, that I’ve accumulated a lot of concert pictures. I haven’t been as conscientious in keeping this online journal updated with the events of my life, thus, the backlog in this weblog (heehee- sorry!). As such, I’ve chosen a few of the more memorable concerts I’ve been to in the last few months and selected some of the nicer pictures to put up and share with you.

In February, I attended two concerts one week apart: “Missing You,” featuring Martin Nievera and Pops Fernandez, the local concert scene’s royal couple, in a dramatic musical reunion- 

martinpops 01

martinpops 02

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and “Peter Cetera Live in Manila,” featuring the former lead of the popular band Chicago and the voice behind some of the eighties’ most enduring love songs.

peterc 02

Peter Cetera wowed us with solid vocals that have not changed the least bit through the years. Who would believe that this man is past sixty? And who would believe that this man learned to sing through a wired jaw? He is absolutely fantastic even today!

 

 

 

 

 

cole 01

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In March, Ms. Natalie Cole paid a visit to Manila. Her voice was sultry and warm, her pitch was flawless, and her poise perfect. She was also adamantly opposed to any unauthorized video recording of her performance and had to berate a few members of the audience for continuing to record, even after her early reminders not to do so. 

 

   legend 01

 

Later that month, John Legend filled the Araneta Coliseum to the rafters, one of the few foreign acts that did so in the early dismal months of 2009. 

 

 

Just two weeks ago, American Idol’s sensations David Archuleta and David Cook performed in a sold-out concert at the SM Mall of Asia. We had VIP tickets, but we learned to our dismay that VIP in this case Kitty loves david copymeant squat. There were simply too many people crammed in a really flat venue. It was hot and humid, unaccustomed as we were (or as I was) to the hot salty sea air that blew only sporadically. I took as many shots as I could but I ended up getting more pictures of people’s heads or behinds as they jumped or climbed on plastic seats to get a better view. Even Kitty, who sported a specially-made I♥David Archuleta pin, was dead tired before concert’s end.

archie 03

archie 01

 

 

archie 02

 

 

 

 

 

 

By the way, you won’t see any David Cook pictures because I, ehrm, rather, Kitty is a diehard Archie girl. 

concert end copy

I’ve been to quite a lot of concerts and live shows in the past years that my friends call me as the Concert (goer) Queen. I am truly lucky that the opportunities to do so have always come my way. Yes, I am always thankful and mindful that such blessings may not come so soon in the near future. Still, I think that there is such a thing as concert fatigue, and this is probably more as a function of age than anything else. When you start yawning when everyone else around you is still dancing and carousing, or when your legs turn numb after a couple of hours on plastic chairs, it’s time to reevaluate if your honorary title needs to be bequeathed to a more deserving person. Then again, maybe I just need to prep myself more for big nights…

I think the Pussycat Dolls are coming in June. Shall we? We’ll see…

3 Responses to “Concert Queen”

  1. Manggy May 30, 2009 at 11:39 am #

    Yikes, what’s the point of VIP tickets if the organizers aren’t even going to make an effort to preserve the status? Oh nooo! I am a Cookie over Archie 😛
    Looks like Martin and Pops have really taken advantage of the public’s desire to see them together again. I wonder if they even talk to each other backstage! Ha ha ha.

  2. remo May 31, 2009 at 2:05 pm #

    Didn’t know you were a concert queen, in attendance. Me I haven’t been into any concerts since med school…But if U2 drop by Pinas…I’ll break this promise!

    Come join us and celebrate TBR’s one year by commenting or suggesting here….

    http://orthologbook.blogspot.com/2009/05/blog-rounds-one-year-and-counting.html

    Thanks

  3. cpsanti July 7, 2009 at 11:26 am #

    wow, that’s a LOT of concerts! you really must enjoy music 😉

Leave a Reply

