Birthday Bonanza

9 Jun

This

birthday bonanza 01

was supposed to be my birthday cake. All 12 by 8 inches of soft, moist butter cake topped with a 10-inch fondant and royal icing Hello Kitty Chinese Empress in red. This was a surprise birthday cake A had especially made for me.

 

 birthday bonanza 02

And this

was all that was left of Hello Kitty, ten minutes after she arrived in the house.

Alphonse, in his excitement, thought she was a doll, and before anyone could stop him, grabbed the Kitty topper and hugged her tight.  I’m ashamed to admit it now, but at that moment when he lunged for the cake, I cried. I hadn’t even taken a picture of it yet, I hadn’t even blown out the birthday candles, and here it was, destroyed in seconds.

Alphonse smiled innocently at us, a little confused about my reaction, as tears fell down my face. He licked the sticky red icing off his hands, wiped the rest on his head, chewed on the fondant pieces that fell off,  and walked around waving a crushed Kitty which looked more like zombie kitty than anything else.

Yes, I cried, and A comforted me. I saw the sense in his calmness and reasoning much later, after I had spent all my tears. A reminded me that nothing bad had happened, that it was only cake, and that it would still taste delicious even after a little manhandling. We were all together, that was what mattered.  As usual, my A was right.

From that low point on the eve of my birthday, things got better and just took off. This is the first birthday celebration I have spent at home in the last couple of years. With rising concern about the A(H1N1) virus (we like to call it the ahini virus, heehee) and Alphonse just past a real dengue scare, we were loathe to leave the kids. We had planned a weekend with them at home, but with provisions for some alone time for the two of us. I prepped for my birthday lunch with the family the day before, cooking the spaghetti sauce ahead of time and marinading the chicken overnight in homemade barbecue sauce. The nannies helped out in the morning by grilling the chicken and cooking the pasta. It all worked out perfectly, tasted yummy too.

birthday bonanza 03

This is the second cake A gave me. Alphonse blew out the candles on this one and said “mama” at the end of the birthday song. 🙂 I was able to record it on video and this is probably one of the best things that happened that day. It is simply amazing to hear him call my name! I get goosebumps each time he does it. Ah, I hope I never get used to it…

 birthday bonanza 04As usual, A and the kids loaded me with gifts that amazed, astounded, and touched me no end. A got me a complete set of pink clubs and the pinkest golf bag in the whole world! I don’t mind at all that it’s not Hello Kitty, as long as it’s pink! 🙂

I also received new Mizuno ladies’ golf shoes and pink gloves. Later, A got me two new pairs of golf slacks and long-sleeved shirts (alas! they were not pink) which I forgot to photograph in the excitement of the day.

The kids gave me the HK bag (perfect for the rainy season because it is water repellant) and A just piled me with books of all sorts, more HK MAC merch, and a new HK lunchbox! Even Kitty got a birthday surprise when A gave her a new doll suitcase to hold her Build-A-Bear clothing. 🙂

birthday bonanza 05It isn’t always easy to be grateful and thankful for everything in our lives. The cake episode reminded me that. But if there’s anything I learned with the passing of the years, it is that love eases all the difficulties in our lives. I am blessed that I have A to thank for that. 🙂

7 Responses to “Birthday Bonanza”

  1. Nancy June 10, 2009 at 12:11 am #

    Happy Birthday, Pinky!
    Best of health for you always 🙂
    Wish to meet you soon!

  2. ness June 10, 2009 at 5:46 am #

    Awwwww!!!

    Happy birthday, KittyMama!!

  3. Manggy June 10, 2009 at 10:37 am #

    Indeed love does– I’m glad you realized that (well, I’m sure you always knew, you were just kinda shocked). You are blessed to have such a loving family! Happy birthday Kittymama! 🙂

  4. Kittymama June 10, 2009 at 8:49 pm #

    Thanks, dear friends, for the good wishes! 🙂

  5. ms firefly July 5, 2009 at 4:40 pm #

    oh i’m sorry to be so late, but happy belated birthday!

    i can’t help but smile at what happened with your birthday cake, it’s too bad but fortunately, there are realizations too even for a sad thing like that. your second cake looks very pretty also, and the presents, wow, overwhelming!

    {{{hugs}}} kittymama, you have a wonderful family!

    Hi, Odette! Thank you for the birthday greetings, and I don’t mind at all that they are late. (Well, this reply is late too, heehee!) It simply makes me feel like my birthday extends waaay past the actual date and I like that!

    Hugs to you too, dear friend. ~♥Kittymama

  6. caryn July 7, 2009 at 11:23 am #

    wow, nice haul! belated happy birthday and may you continue to be blessed! 😉

    Thanks, Caryn! Blessings to you too! ~♥Kittymama

  7. Arleen July 11, 2009 at 12:06 pm #

    Pinky

    Just now finally got a chance to check your blog. Happy belated birthday!! What a heart warming birthday story!

    Love the pink clubs!! I have some pink clubs myself. Love your new pink golf bag.

    Take care!
    Arleen

    Hi, Arleen! Thank you for visiting my blog! 🙂 It’s not often I get old classmates to come and visit, save for Megamom (Aileen A.), who I actually found through her blog too.

    Yes, pink clubs rock! I’m a little OC about the whole golf thing, can’t play unless I am color and kitty coordinated, hehe. I think I need a golf shrink. ~♥Kittymama

Leave a Reply

