Blessings For My Friends

22 Aug

I am sitting in a coffee shop, enjoying the free net access that came with my Cafe Mocha. A is in front of me, sipping cold chocolate and writing in his netbook. This is our third coffee shop date in as many weeks and while we both cringe at indulging in coffee and chocolate (we really, really want to bring our own sachets of Milo and Nescafe and just ask for water, hehe), this is a necessary expense as we accompany our son to meet a great teacher-friend for extra math lessons.

commodore-64

Commodore 64

It’s amazing how the computer and the Internet have revolutionized communications. Twenty-five years ago, in high school, we would never have thought this was even possible. Back when computers were as large as fullsized dressers, this technology seemed so inaccessible and reserved only for large left brains. And so when my brother’s Commodore VIC 20, and later, his Commodore 64 (which introduced us to modems and Bulletin Board Systems- BBS), arrived in our home in spanking new boxes, we were dumbfounded at the possibilities of this new technology. Who would have thought that we would make such great leaps in less than a lifetime?   

True, it has its risks, as everything in life has. The Internet has often been used for less than noble purposes. Nefarious characters have often taken advantage of the anonymity available in this forum to wreak havoc and create discord. Yet for all its risks and problems, it has made reaching out to people so much easier, making it a boon to people whose lives are separated by geography or circumstance.

It is in this spirit of celebration that I share this with all my friends here in WordPress and in Blog world, in Facebook, Multiply, and Friendster. This is a prayer-poem I received through email. The world is a friendlier place because of the friendships- real, virtual, online- that you’ve all shared with me. God bless you all always! 

hello kitty  computerEvery single evening
As I’m lying here in bed,

This tiny little Prayer

Keeps running through my head:

God  bless all my family
Wherever they may be,

Keep them warm

And safe from harm

For they’re so close to me.

And  God, there is one more thing
I wish that you could do;

Hope you don’t mind me asking,

Please bless my computer too.

Now I know that it’s unusual
To Bless a motherboard,

But listen just a second

While I explain it to you, Lord.

You see, that little metal box
Holds more than odds and ends;

Inside those small compartments

Rest so many of my friends.

I know so much about them
By  the kindness that they give,

And this little scrap of metal

Takes me in to where they live..

By faith is how I know them
Much the same as you.

We share in what life brings us

And from that our friendships grew.

Please take an extra minute
From your duties up above,

To bless those in my address book

That’s filled with so much love.

Wherever else this prayer may reach
To each and every friend,

Bless each e-mail inbox

And each person who hits ‘send’.

When you update your Heavenly list
On your own Great CD-ROM,

Bless everyone who says this prayer

Sent up to GOD.Com

Leave a Reply

