Guided By Angels

17 Sep

I asked permission to repost this article in my blog. I wanted so much to share with you an uplifting story of love within a family living with autism. The author is a junior in high school and a friend of my son Alex. She also happens to be an excellent writer. I read this in her Multiply blog and was moved to tears.  I think you will be too.

I took the liberty of removing identifying clues in her piece to preserve her anonymity (her multiply site is for her friends only) but other than that, these are her own words.

Second miracle of my life : Because my brother was guided by angels.

I woke up today not knowing that 5:25 PM would change me forever. Little did I know that come 7:51 PM, grades, academics, food, the internet, would all seem trivial compared to this overwhelming event that I was a witness to.

My brother went missing.

Last Saturday, my mother and I went to our parish to find the Black Nazarene from Quiapo in display next to the altar. The priest then went on to tell stories of miracles about this miraculous statue. I was amused by the stories, enlightened maybe, but it was nothing compared to what happened today.

Today is a Monday. Usually I have Kumon after school. We came out later than usual though, so my mom and I decided to just buy some food and go home. When we finally did, however, we found my grandmother shaking with fear. My brother had just run out of the gate into the unknown. My grandmother and my brother were the only ones in the house, and with my nineteen-year-old brother’s youthful strength and natural hyperactivity, my grandmother was left shouting after him as he ran out into the void. She, of course, called 117 and alerted the authorities.

Having a brother go missing is scary in itself. Imagine that brother to be autistic. I’m not sure if you remember, but there was a news story before about an autistic boy getting drowned. I know my brother is scared of deep water and heights, but without him in our sight, we can never be too sure. My mom immediately rode the van and searched for him; my dad did the same, this time with the other car. Waiting in the house with my grandmother, worrying about what could happen, was a pain. We had nothing to do but imagine what had happened, what is happening, and what will happen. We didn’t know what kind of news the next phone call would bring. Sometimes I felt as if there were many things I could have done to prevent this, but then again, who are we supposed to blame? My brother’s pent-up energy was incomparable. It took four or five grown men to control him just a few years ago in the hospital.

Suddenly, the phone rang. I jumped out of my seat in the sofa and shakily answered the call. The news was good. Very good. My brother was found! I hurriedly asked, “Where?” Goosebumps rose on my skin when the policeman replied, “Name of  school, name of city.” What is my brother doing in name of school!? !^@&#^&*!# He must have known my mother would be there to fetch me, but oh my gosh, my brother loves me! 

Time flew and at last, my mother and I came to fetch him. angelAutismHe was transferred from (name of school) to Brgy. (name of barangay) hall or something. When we saw him, I felt like I haven’t seen him since forever. I had to touch his whole face just to see if he was real. It all felt like a very realistic dream, but he is here! At last!

That was 7:51 PM. It’s now 8:35 PM and I’m typing this blog. I will never ever take my brother for granted again. I thought he had no real feelings, you know, aside from hunger and other human things like that. I really felt that he loved us so much, that he would be ready to run or walk all the way to name of school. It is still a mystery how he managed to cross all those streets on his own. Well, maybe it isn’t such a mystery anymore, because my brother was guided my angels.

4 Responses to “Guided By Angels”

  1. Nancy September 17, 2009 at 11:58 pm #

    Hi Mare, I was moved by this blog…God is great for sending His angels down to guide this thoughtful brother. Sometimes God really allow accidents, problems or like this thing to happen so we can learn from it and bless us more with wisdom and love. Praise God!

  2. Vivi September 18, 2009 at 10:38 pm #

    Upon reading her story, i suddenly remembered my own brother running off towards the antique store across the street – he LOVES old mags, but esp. Reader’s Digests & TV Guides – and the people in our home were only informed by the owner of the store that my bro is, in fact, already enjoying his time browsing the old magazines & newspapers at his store. I do believe that my brother was also guided (and protected) by angels as well in getting to where he wanted to go, because when my husband went to take him home, my bro was about to cross the street without even glancing at the oncoming truck that was about to pass by them, hubby had to pull him back fast in time! 😦 so imagine what my bro’s angels had to do to make him cross thru a very high-traffic HIGHWAY ROAD, SAFELY. 😉 Thank God for our Guardian Angels talaga. 🙂

  3. DennisVega October 1, 2009 at 1:24 am #

    Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.

    Thank you and do visit again! ~♥Kittymama

  4. RobD October 7, 2009 at 5:25 am #

    I don’t usually reply to posts but I will in this case, great info…I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Thanks and come back anytime! ~♥Kittymama

Leave a Reply

