Balloon Love

23 Sep

balloon love

This is the balloon Alex brought home for me a week ago. It’s a little deflated now and needs a little propping up to stand straight but I still like to look at it every day. Alex had gone to afternoon mass with the other boys of Dulaang Sibol at the Dela Strada Parish that Wednesday. On the way back to school (where he would be fetched by his dad), he bought one for me. He held it in his hand the whole time – from Katipunan Avenue through Miriam College, all the way to Ateneo High School.  He got a lot of goodnatured ribbing from his friends along the way, but he was always quick to say “This is for my mother.”  This from a boy who does not set foot inside any Gift Gate or Sanrio store. What an absolutely sweet gesture. 🙂

It wasn’t actually my first HK balloon. I had gotten one like it a few weeks agoballoon love and son, an after-mass gift from A. Here we are, mother and son, in a picture with my first Hello Kitty balloon. Alex must have observed me prancing happily back to the car.

This unexpected gift was truly a very pleasant surprise. Alex and I have been working through some issues together over the last few months. I know he and I  have not been the best of friends for a while now. I know too that sometimes, he chafes under my strict rules and the limits I set for him. But I also know that whatever happens, there is always, will always be, love between us.

A love that endures all. A love expressed through a simple toy balloon.

Thank you, Alex. Mama loves you always. ♥

3 Responses to “Balloon Love”

  1. Enrico Dee September 24, 2009 at 9:26 pm #

    Hello!

    My name is Enrico Dee from Etera Events. I would like to ask for your email address where we can send you an event invite.

    Many thanks

    Eric

  2. odette September 27, 2009 at 3:32 pm #

    that is very sweet kittymama, and i love the picture of you and Alex, he’s one big guy!

  3. cynch October 2, 2009 at 2:13 pm #

    how sweet of alex!!!

    Talaga. 🙂 This boy breaks my heart, but he can also mend it with the sweetest of gestures. ~♥Kittymama

Leave a Reply

