The Day Of The Great Flood

27 Sep
From Times News Network Flickr

From Times News Network Flickr

We were caught unaware, that much is true. Weather services warned us of a small typhoon coming in Friday night, but since our country is beseiged with typhoons year round, we thought we were prepared.

We were wrong.

In the first six hours alone of continuous, torrential rains, levels exceeded the highest 24-hour rainfall recorded 42 years ago, in 1967. The amount of rain we experienced from Typhoon Ondoy (Tropical Storm Ketsana) was almost equal Metro Manila’s monthly rainfall average. The result was a devastating flood that covered  Metro Manila, submerging houses, businesses, vehicles, and people in ravaging two-storey high waters.

This morning’s news were bleak. Some people drowned in their cars, trapped in the sudden rising waters; their bodies were recovered this morning. There are still many, many people  trapped on the roofs of their houses. The rains have stopped, thankfully, but the waters have yet to recede. Electricity and water services are still off most areas. Even cellular phone services are spotty, their signals coming on and off. The waters spared very little in their paths.

Yesterday, A and Alex were in Katipunan Avenue early morning for Alex’s math lessons. Afterwards, A was supposed to bring Alex to Assumption Antipolo to watch a friend’s auditions. When the rains got progressively worse, I prevailed upon them to go straight home. I am grateful that they did. If they had not, they would have been caught in the flashfloods in the area, or Alex and A would have been separated, with Alex hapless in Antipolo and A stranded in the streets amid the rising flood waters. It took them four hours to make what was normally a thirty-minute drive home. If they had tried to go home just minutes later, they would never have made it back.

As I write this, I thank God that my family is safe and in high ground. I think about my friends and loved ones whom I have not been able to get in touch with. I worry most about those living in severely affected areas like Marikina, Cainta, and Pasig. I pray that wherever they are right now, they are safe and warm and dry.

Here are some photos shared by people online:

 Area around Xavier School, Greenhills, San Juan

Area around Xavier School, Greenhills, San Juan

flood 02- Katipunan

Katipunan Avenue, Quezon City

Loyola Heights, Quezon City
Loyola Heights, Quezon City

flood 03- araneta

car submerged in Araneta Avenue, Quezon City
 

flood 06- buendia

Buendia, Makati City
5 Responses to “The Day Of The Great Flood”

  1. odette September 27, 2009 at 3:30 pm #

    it’s unbelievable. once only have i experienced a typhoon in manila, back in 2001 i think, with Senyang. i can still vividly remember the scare i had for the all-night lashing of the storm and yet it doesn’t even come close to this one.

    this is so sad, my prayers go with the families greatly affected by the flood.

  2. Kittymama September 30, 2009 at 12:27 pm #

    This is really a horrible tragedy. I’ve never seen so much devastation in our country before. 😦

  3. Charelle September 30, 2009 at 12:35 pm #

    TITA! :(( I’m glad you’re all safe. It truly was a horrible experience. I live in Pasig City, and my family and I were going home from my chorale competition, when we were suddenly STRANDED in the Pasig City bridge, the one near One Oasis. It was all over the news. My family and I were actually pretty lucky that we were only stranded in that bridge for 16 straight hours. Others stayed there for 2 days, with no food or drink. The streets were flooded. The flood was higher than a person. Our house was flooded and it was knee length. But only a few things were broken, so it’s okay. My friends and classmates experienced worse. My friend’s uncle died because he drowned. My friend’s house is completley destroyed; nothing was saved. She said she doesn’t know how she can go back to school. Gah, Ondoy truly brought devastation. 😦

    I am glad you and your family are safe too. I am glued to the news these days, and each broadcast makes me break into tears. While we were lucky, I really feel a sense of grief for the people who lost possessions and loved ones. Let’s keep praying and keep helping. These are the only ways we can get through this. Keep safe always!~♥Kittymama

  4. Manggy September 30, 2009 at 7:58 pm #

    Glad you and the family are safe, Kittymama. Continuing to pray for those most affected 😦

    I hope you and your family weathered Ondoy safely too, Mark. Be safe always! ~♥Kittymama

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Water In The Dry Season « Okasaneko Chronicles - March 9, 2010

    […] barangay, which in turn, also sits on high ground. This feature protected us during the wrath of Ondoy, when the rains threatened to flood the entire city. These days, however, it makes us perfect […]

Leave a Reply

