For A

7 Oct

loveI haven’t been sleeping well these last three months. It’s a long story, something for another day. I am in physical pain most days and I know I can’t be an easy person to be with on days when the pain is toughest. But I’d like to thank A for his patience and encouragement, his thoughtfulness and constant concern. Throughout these long, trying days, you give me a glimmer of better days. I am forever grateful.

 

I woke up this morning with this on my mind and I wanted to write it down before I forget:

Your hand on my bosom
Your breath on my shoulders
We sleep together
Like fingers entwined
Serene, comfortable
Our bodies meld
Into one

A,
I’ve loved you since the first day I met you, 27 years ago.
I didn’t even know it then. Yes, it may have started out as a different kind of love, but I also know that because of you, it was always made of stronger stuff.  And as we grew, it grew with us, shaping our lives and who and what we are.

I woke up today with the quiet knowledge that I have never loved anyone before you,
that you are my life, before and today,
that my best dream is still growing old with you,
your hand on my bosom, as we sleep, together.

2 Responses to “For A”

  1. Daddy Forever October 7, 2009 at 11:00 pm #

    Sounds like a perfect mate. I’m sure you guys will love each other more and more every day.

    Thank you. I am very blessed. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  2. A October 8, 2009 at 10:12 am #

    I am who I am, what I am, because of you, and I thank the Lord every single day He gave me you.

    You are my love and my life, and I am nothing without you.

    A.

    Aww, honey… you make me blush. I love you too. ~♥Kittymama

Leave a Reply

