Build Me Up

22 Oct

I needed a BIG pick-me up yesterday. I’ve been stuck in the house for a few weeks now, unable to bear too much movement and traveling.  A, the kids, or the nannies have taken over almost all of my chores. I don’t even do the groceries anymore.

As such, I am always in oversized pajamas around the house. My hair has turned into a drab, mousey mop that hangs long and sticky and refuses any sort of management. What I needed was to get out, dress up, breathe normally, and feel free even for just a few hours.

You know how when you wish for something, the universe always seems to give you so much more?

In my case, it started with two tickets for last night’s Basia concert. A knew I would do anything not to miss the show because it featured two of my all-time favorite artists, The Company and Basia. So even while he was still recovering from the flu, he got up from his sickbed just to go out with me last night. (Thanks, honey!)

The Company

The Company
 
post 05
 
Basia, back after so many years 
 
And then, because he knew I was feeling unkempt and mousey, he offered to bring me to my hair stylist for a quick trim. Haircuts always make me feel happy. I think I scared my stylists, though, when I popped in with the cervical collar. Sheryl and the blow-dry man were so careful with my head yesterday that I hardly felt anything 🙂 My hair is now four inches shorter, but I love it.
 
post 02

And just when I was feeling better about myself, an idea struck me. Nothing makes me feel better than kittified things (next to Sylvanian things, heehee) and my boring, white cervical collar definitely needed some pizzazz to match my upbeat mood. I remembered the patches my friend Cynthia had bought for me in HongKong a few months back and with just the magic of a hot iron, I turned my cervical collar into a thing of Kitty beauty. Now, what could be better than that?

Kitty and Loving It!
Kitty and Loving It!

 

So, here I am, ready to face the world with a smile again.

post 06
4 Responses to “Build Me Up”

  1. denise October 22, 2009 at 7:34 pm #

    I love the kittified collar! 🙂

    Thanks, Denise. I am thinking of more ways to amp that horrible, ehrm, cute thing… Hmmm, how about removable covers made of HK cloth? Kitty addicts simply can’t stop thinking of ways to kittify things. ~♥Kittymama

  2. cynch October 22, 2009 at 7:43 pm #

    hihihihihi….i really love it pinky :))!!! ingenious! hahahaha…it brought a smile to my lips…and na-extra pa me…hehehe :D. love the new do too 🙂

    hope you’re feeling better…hugz and kisses your way 🙂

    Hugs and kisses, too, Cynch! I’ve been saving the patches you bought for something really, really special, but I didn’t expect it to be this. Ah, just as well… If I have to wear that collar for a long time, I’d rather it be a Kitty one. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  3. Melyn October 22, 2009 at 9:18 pm #

    love that last pic Pinks. you’re positively glowing. take care & be safe. hope you get well & feel better real soon. hugs & kisses to the kids & Cuaycs. 😀

    Thanks, Melyn. Nothing like a haircut to perk one’s up, heehee. Hugs to you and Joseph too! ~♥Kittymama

  4. NinJas! October 22, 2009 at 10:54 pm #

    “next to Sylvanian things”?

    You mean Kitty’s been dethroned?!?!?! zOMG!

    I will always love Hello Kitty, but these days, I’m pretty careful about what I buy. *A heaves a sigh of relief* For now, Kitty will also have to fit into the Sylvanian Families’ world. Watch out, HK and DD will have their own house in Sylvania! 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

Leave a Reply

