My First Sylvanian families Post

28 Oct

To A, who has gifted me with more love than anyone can imagine, I hope I am always worthy of your love.

To my sisters Jas and Joee, who have patiently dug inside our family’s old “baul” to look for stuff I can recycle, thanks for putting up with your eccentric older sister.

And to Cynthia and Nancy, thank you for keeping my spirits up and encouraging me during this weird but exciting time.

For over a month now, I have lived and breathed miniatures. My Sylvanian Families collection, which started with one single family on September 15, has grown to include 80 individuals, four Sylvanian houses, two bootleg houses, a hospital, scores of stores and mini-stands, and all the authentic accessories that come with them.

On a daily basis, I spend an hour or two setting them up, making my scripts, playing with them, and taking photographs. When I do get tired (which is quite often these days), I review my photographs and look at the pictures until my Sylvanian appetite is satiated.

My greatest joy, however, comes from making and customizing my own furniture and accessories. Since authentic Sylvanian accessories sets are quite expensive (a sofa, a potted plant, and one character, for example, retails for PhP700 or around US$15), I have taken to filling my homes with homemade furniture or customized pieces.

I am very proud of my handmade creations, prouder still that despite the persistent pain in my hands, I am able to create something functional (that is, “playable”)  and pleasing to the eye.

And so I unveil my first few creations- the living room sofa. Of six houses in my SF village, two have official SF living room sets, but four needed furnishing. I have done three and is in the process of making the fourth sofa and matching armchairs for all sofas. It’s good therapy. 🙂

SF sofas 01

Here is Mama Margaret proudly showing off the scale of two new sofas, one in solid purple and another in red checks. Hmmm… seems she can’t decide which she likes best. 

SF sofas 02

This is a floral print sofa which I made from a maternity blouse I had when I was pregnant with Alphonse.  The blouse was a gift from my mom. 🙂 I like that the fabric reminds me of happy times (I was quite pretty during my second pregnancy, unlike the first which had me bloated and splotchy) and I can keep it as a souvenir even if I can no longer wear it. I experimented with curved backrests on this one and it came out rather well. This was a real sacrifice though, because I needed to do sewing for this (ouch!).

If you happen to notice the scrawny plant beside it, well, it’s homemade and recycled too. I used the cover of an empty gel tube in the recycling bin, covered it with moss, and used a glue gun to “plant” the plastic leaves decor from Alphonse’s second birthday cake. (As you can see, I hardly throw anything away, heehee.)

SF sofas 03

And this is Granny Clementine checking out her newly wallpapered digs (this is the bootleg house). I made the curtains from leftover lace. Baby Kit is on the  jewelry box-turned-bed which I had dismantled and  stained (I still have leftover wood to make a table). I made the cushions and pillow from the same fabric as the sofa to keep the theme.

I have a step-by-step guide to make the sofa which I will post at a later date. I hope you enjoyed my pictures. Come and play with me sometime soon. 🙂

8 Responses to “My First Sylvanian families Post”

  1. cynch October 28, 2009 at 9:09 pm #

    i love em all!!! grabe you are one artistic and creative mama :D!!! how i wish i have the talent to sew like you and nancy. one day i hope to see the rest of your SF and SF accessoriessssss :). rest well and see you soon :D!!! hugsss and mwahhh!!!

  2. Nancy October 28, 2009 at 10:13 pm #

    I salute you Mare. We will play soon. Please visit my blog at HKJ – I made a HK felt (something like plush)…See you soon 🙂

  3. ms firefly October 28, 2009 at 10:54 pm #

    ohhh i love miniatures!!!
    you did very well, i’m looking forward to see the entire little house. ^-^ and do share your stories about them!

  4. ness November 1, 2009 at 4:44 pm #

    Awesome, KittyMama!

  5. age beauty November 26, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    I really like your site , it’s full with lot of information. You have found one perennial visitor and a fan of this blog.

  6. iceklicky December 5, 2009 at 5:20 pm #

    Hi Kittymama,
    Very impressed to see the hand made sofa!!! They look at real!!!!!! Thank you for sharing them with us! 🙂

  7. Garryj68 April 21, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    Great site – i really like your style

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. » My First Sylvanian families Post - October 29, 2009

    […] View original here:  My First Sylvanian families Post […]

Leave a Reply

