Dollhouse Dreams

10 Nov

While I am waiting to save enough money for more Sylvanian Families authentic furniture, I am busy at work modifying cheap plastic doll furniture to add to my remodels. The work has been derailed temporarily because of the flu (the coughing strains my neck, stiffens it more, and makes it #$%@ painful) so in the meantime, I busy myself with papering the houses or making small accessories.

I love that cheap plastic furniture, or those that go for PhP50 or about US$1 per set, can become quite chic when repainted. Since I’ve been accumulating houses left and right, I’ve been hard pressed to furnish them all with appropriate pieces. Unfortunately, original SF furniture cost an arm and a leg and can create quite a hole in the pocket when purchased in bulk. Moreover, Ban Kee Trading, the country’s current SF distributor, has such a limited line of furniture available that  it becomes hard to keep each house unique and distinctive, what with the same things cropping up over and over again in different houses.

Of course, nothing beats the satisfaction of owning the real thing, but the truth is, when it comes to playing, as long as the pieces are there, the fun goes on. 

dollhouse project 01 copyThis is the kitchen sink and stove with oven. I hated the fake colors and the stickers so I opted for a pale shade of green to complement the wallpaper I used in the area. I also repainted the tiles with mixtures of white, yellow, and green to make it more interesting.

dollhouse project 02 copyThe refrigerator, in the same hideous color as the sink and stove, was repainted to match. I flipped the picture so you can see the before and after shots more clearly.

dollhouse project 03 copyI am very proud of this bed. On the left is its original state, which is not quite as bad as the colors of the other plastic pieces. I repainted it a wooden brown and added gold accents for that English Victorian era feel. I made the mattress out of an old, unused maternity napkin (heehee). The cloth for the bed cover came from old pillow cases. The ruffles were added to make the bed more elegant. I still have to finish sewing the pillow shams.

dollhouse project 04 copyRepainting the television and component set matte black and silver made it look more real. I have a few glossy cut-outs of old movies I got from magazines and I can simply stick one on the screen to make it seem as if there’s a movie showing.     

dollhouse project 05 copyThis is part of the Oakwood Manor remodel and papering. I made an oriental screen (from illustration board and tracing paper) to separate the bath from the rest of the second floor, but I accidentally destroyed it while coloring in the design. I then opted for curtains that open in the middle, held up by a barbecue stick painted the same color as the walls. The bathroom furniture used to be in a sickeningly purple color so I made it pristine white with paint. I used gold paint as accents for the pieces. While I try to resolve the problem of creating mirrors (suggestions, anyone?), I used foil to make a temporary one. I also made the toilet seat cover and the small rug.

I’m quite happy with the results of my “experiments” on colors and paper. On the days when I am unable to do much of anything at all, I simply look at my dollhouses and let my imagination play.  It’s enough to drive all the blues away.

8 Responses to “Dollhouse Dreams”

  1. Nancy November 10, 2009 at 12:56 pm #

    you are so great mare! i loovvvvveeeee your works, two thumbs up + two toes up =))

  2. Ryusui November 10, 2009 at 1:23 pm #

    They certainly look more realistic now without that blinding shade of aqua. Nice work with the tiles on the back of the stove.

  3. Vivi November 10, 2009 at 1:59 pm #

    WOW! 😀 Let’s play!!! XD

  4. cynch November 10, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    bravo!!! clap clap clap!!! so creative, crafty and ingenious!!! u never run out of such wonderful creations 🙂

  5. LEIRS November 12, 2009 at 12:27 am #

    grabe!!!! galing mo!!!! i am so impressed!!!!! galing!!! bow na talaga ako sa yo..

  6. odette November 13, 2009 at 5:18 am #

    wow, i love your decorating style!
    my favorites are the kitchen tiles and the bathroom! you’re so good!

  7. Devy March 30, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    I really love what you have done to the furniture. What paint do you use?

    • Kittymama March 30, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

      I used paints for plastic models. The cheapest ones would be from Tamiya, but any plastic model paint will do. Just remember that primers are always needed to keep the paint bonded to the material.

Leave a Reply

