UPDATE: Wonder Toys Powers, Activate!

24 Nov

 Since I put up the Wonder Toys post last week, I have received a few inquiries about the information contained therein. The most common question asked was: “Is there really a Wonder Toys store in SM North Edsa?”

The answer is NO. I did not specifically name the SMNE outlet as Wonder Toys. What I said was, and I quote,

A few weeks ago, in one of A’s solo trips to the mall since I got injured, he discovered a small toy warehouse outlet tucked in one of the corners of the new Annex of SM North EDSA. Always on the lookout for toy sales, A took a step inside and discovered a goldmine — old Sylvanian Families (SF) toy sets for sale at below market prices…. …The salesperson then volunteered a nugget of information — they might have some more SF in their stores in Tutuban and in Festival Mall.”

Just to make things clear, these are the facts.

1. The name of the SMNE outlet store I was referring to in my post is Ultimate Toy Drive.

2. Ultimate Toy Drive was set up by TK (Toy Kingdom) Express last August and the first time my husband went there, he was told that it will run through the Christmas season.

3. That particular TK Express outlet is unique because all the merchandise being sold is supplied solely by Speedtech, which used to be Smarty Toys.

4. Speedtech owns Wonder Toys (Festival Mall) and Happy Toys (Tutuban), which is why all the products that could be found at the Ultimate Toy Drive (UTD) are also available at Wonder Toys. Only in many cases, they were actually cheaper at UTD.

5. This is also the reason why many of the items at Wonder Toys sport TK or TK Express bar codes.

Below are pictures of the Sylvanian Families Oakwood Manor purchased at the Ultimate Toy Drive at SMNE. At PhP3000, it is PhP500 cheaper than the ones currently in Wonder Toys (WT restocked with these beauties last week). UTD is now all out of Sylvanian Families items but if you ask their sales people, they will say that they did have them, and that they are still available in the company’s other outlets (Wonder Toys and Happy Toys). Also, notice the Toy Express tag, seen clearly in the second picture.

I will try to take pictures of UTD when I do my grocery-shopping this weekend at SM North Edsa and try to post them asap. Hope this post answers your questions, folks.

6 Responses to “UPDATE: Wonder Toys Powers, Activate!”

  1. Early Learning December 8, 2009 at 2:48 am #

    A thoughtful insight and ideas I will use on my blog. You’ve obviously spent some time on this. Well done!

  2. le toy van December 22, 2009 at 8:19 am #

    Hiya … I was browsing the web and came across your website by accident. I was searching in MSN for toys for my kids. I enjoyed your blog post. I don’t have the time at the moment to fully read your entire site but I bookmarked it and will be back around in a day or two. Thanks.

  3. kit January 1, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    hi there again, kittymama.
    I’m just wondering if they still have the marked-down SF in SM North-Edsa. Luckily, got hold of the sale SF items by speedtech in Rockwell but since the arrival of new SF by BanKee, they already pulled them all out (sniff!). Have you tried checking their warehouse in Sta.Mesa (i think)?

    • Kittymama January 13, 2010 at 11:47 am #

      They’re all out, I’m afraid. The only two locations for Speedtech SF items are Wonder Toys Festival Mall and Happy Toys Tutuban. Their head office/warehouse does not sell items to individuals and I think they are just clearing out their stocks through their stores.

      I got interested in SF only last year, at around the time Ban Kee started their distributorship. Many of my items are Ban Kee-released, but I do have some from Speedtech (mostly characters, and I was surprised they still have the ducks and the owls, which are no longer being made and as such, are being sold at ridiculously high prices elsewhere in the world). But I am always on SF Hunt mode so if I do see something, then I will give you the heads-up. 🙂

  4. harriet jara January 13, 2010 at 12:31 am #

    hi kittymama…. i’m also on kit’s side! please! help us! hehehe!

    • Kittymama January 13, 2010 at 11:48 am #

      I think we can all help each other… Let’s think of ways how. After all, SF is not all about collecting and amassing as many as you can, it is about sharing the experience with friends. ♥

Leave a Reply

