Thanksgiving

27 Nov

I woke up this morning to the rustling of the sheets. It was still dark out; there was no hint of light in the sky. I felt a movement in the room, and as I tried to focus my eyes, I saw Alphonse, sitting in the darkness, making happy, little noises. He didn’t even notice me wake up.

I was expecting him to run to the light switches and open all of them in one go, or even attempt to open the bedroom door which we lock at night to keep him from wandering, but no, this time, he stayed put at the foot of our bed. And then just as suddenly, he clambered over the bed, sidled up to me, and started giving me wet, sloppy kisses, all the while still making his happy, little noises.

As his lips brushed my cheeks, he suddenly whispered, “Ayayu (I love you).” He has not spoken these words in a while so I was surprised. “I love you too, baby,” I whispered back, as tears fell down my cheeks. He gave me one last kiss and then moved to the other side of the bed, where he did the same to his dad.

Later, snuggled between his dad and me, he smiled and went back to sleep.

This is what we call Thanksgiving.  

7 Responses to “Thanksgiving”

  1. Mandi November 27, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    Great post. I love your blog. My son used to say “Ayayu” like that. Thanks for sharing your experience. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Kittymama December 2, 2009 at 11:07 am #

      Thank you, Mandi, for dropping by my blog. I already linked yours to mine. 🙂 Hope you had a great thanksgiving! ~♥Kittymama

  2. NinJas! November 27, 2009 at 1:49 pm #

    (cry)

  3. Nancy November 27, 2009 at 6:17 pm #

    wept 😦
    I’m missing ASAWA KO so much…its his first thanksgiving there and when he saw the turkey that was served by relatives – he remembered our Carlisle. Our son always dream of turkey for thanksgiving as he always sees from cartoons & foreign movies

    • Kittymama December 2, 2009 at 11:08 am #

      Hang in there, Nancy. Hope you and the kids are all coping well with your husband’s temporary absence. I am keeping all of you in my prayers. ~♥Kittymama

  4. Manggy November 28, 2009 at 4:04 pm #

    Oh gosh, I’m so touched. You are truly blessed. Happy thanksgiving to you 🙂

    • Kittymama December 2, 2009 at 11:10 am #

      Hello, Mark! How was your Thanksgiving celebration in the US? Hope it was a great one (you should wow your relatives with your food!). Be safe and God bless you always! ~♥Kittymama

Leave a Reply

