Party Time With The Sylvanians

3 Dec

A and I love toy stores, and on weekends, after the chores have been done and the kids are off doing their own thing, we love to go on dates — at the toy store. When we have time, we explore and check out new ones —A on the lookout for Transformers (he requires that they must always be on sale though, and with huge price slashes) and me, for my new love, the Sylvanian Families.

Over the last year, Eastwood Mall has been one of our favorite weekend destinations. Not only do their cinemas rock (I love Ultra 7 with its reclining seats and unlimited popcorn and drinks), they also have two of my most frequented places — the DIY shop (who knew it was so big? And with a Japan Home Store inside it too!) and Toy Town.

One afternoon, after an exhausting trip round the city for our Sylvanian Hunt, A and I took in Eastwood Mall to buy more storage boxes for my Sylvanians at the DIY shop. On the way out, through the corridor where the elevator was, I noticed a big banner inside Toy Town proudly displaying Chocolate Rabbit. Yay! A Sylvanian Families Party! Later on, A also received an email from Kidz Station with this invite:

I was all hyped for the party. Not only was it a chance to purchase Sylvanian Families items (I’ve been praying for new ones from Ban Kee), it was also a chance to hobnob and meet with fellow collectors like myself. I was lucky; a few days before, I have been able to ride the car without the need of a brace, and lately, my neck pain has been sort of negligible, a two or a three in the pain scale of 10. So, after much begging, A finally allowed me to go.

We got to Kidz Station Greenbelt 5 just a little after one. A and I registered, paid for our “passports,” (a ticket with stubs for food and drinks, face painting, a free picture) and did some major Sylvanian shopping. I was in complete heaven. Ban Kee pulled out all the stops —they released new items that day and for that specific day only, all SF items were to be sold at a discount to passport holders. Double Yay!

See the items for sale and on display. That’s me on the upper right hand corner with Freya Chocolate.

The party had lots of food and drinks, and I certainly enjoyed the face painting session. I was second in line, next to an adorable little girl. Since I wanted to make the paint last longer, I had Nats, the face painter, paint it on my arm. It took three days before this gorgeous thing came off, and only after I forgot to cover it while bathing. Boohoo! Good think I took lots of pictures of it too.

Then there were the freebies which were quite generous, especially to early attendees like myself. Coloring pages for kids and adults, a badge, a keychain, magnets, and free SF characters! I loved them all! Thank you, Ban Kee — you made my Sylvanian dreams come true.

Cute little critters- baby rabbit, baby penguin and brother and sister otter

I met a few collectors too. Most were parents with little girls who love SF. (ANC Journalist David Celdran was there, with his little girl; they were so cute!)  Others were like me, adults who haven’t quite grown up (we look young for our age too). I think I was one of the older ones, if not the oldest, but I didn’t mind. I gamely posed with the mascot Freya (see picture above) and were it not for the fact that we were off to see a show that night, A and I would have stayed longer than the almost four hours we were there.

I came home with lots of new items to add to my collections. It felt like a very early Christmas indeed!

I got doubles of some items to put in different houses. I chose two of these beds over an extra four-poster one just because the four-poster bed was simply too big.

I love the Persian cats; they look so fluffy! And the baby was available too!

Dr. Spencer Clearwater, the Sylvanian Family Dentist, will soon be joined by his wife Sybil and daughter Stephanie. I love reuniting families!

This four poster bed is destined for the Grand Hotel (soon to come, keeping my fingers crossed).

I asked Ban Kee’s representatives if there were plans of forming a local Sylvanian Families Club, like they have in the UK or in Japan. (Ban Kee’s SF distributorship is new, barely a few months old.) While they were supportive of the idea, they felt that a SF club would be better served if formed by local collectors themselves. They would be there to support with merchandise or activities, if possible, but they said that perhaps, the initiative should start with us. How about it, SF Friends? Anyone interested? Can we make this happen? Leave a message if you’re interested and I’ll get back to you via email.  

I do have some suggestions for the next party, like more activities or games or just a little sharing on why SF make us happy. If there were a next one, and I certainly hope there is, I’d be first in line again. Thanks again, Ban Kee. Good luck and more power to you guys!

7 Responses to “Party Time With The Sylvanians”

  1. Joanna December 3, 2009 at 4:28 pm #

    Great Buys KittyMama! huhu i didn’t get the free items i was too early! i was only informed by my boyfriend about the event he saw on tv. But we didn’t know about the time so that is why.. I’ll also post what i bought there soon..

  2. iceklicky December 5, 2009 at 5:26 pm #

    Hi Kittymama,
    Hope you can start the SF club soon . 🙂

    • Kittymama December 10, 2009 at 9:21 pm #

      I hope so too. I have a few names already but I’d like to spread the word out some more so we can get more people to join. As it is, there doesn’t seem so many yet, at least not enough to form a real club, but I’m hoping we can get the numbers. 🙂 ~♥Kittymama

  3. Kit December 29, 2009 at 12:24 pm #

    Hi there! I think we’ve met at the event while discussing with the promoter the SF club. I really love to start the SF club and even volunteer to help Ban Kee on their SF Parties and Events! My site’s not that ready yet but you can PM me there.
    Keep me posted with the updates on SF!

    • Kittymama December 30, 2009 at 1:30 am #

      I think we did meet and even talked a bit. 🙂 I’ve been to your site and I was bowled over by your polymer clay creations. They’d be perfect food for our Sylvanians. Hope you decide to make some for commercial sale.

      I really want to have a SF club too, if only for the chance to share the experience with other people. Right now, there’s me, Joanna, and you, and I have three more names on my list. If we can start with even just six and spread the word, who knows how far we can take this? Maybe we can meet up and discuss how we can go about this? How does that sound?

      • kit January 1, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

        Thanks! got hooked with the polymer clay when i got frustrated with the pull-out of sylvanian toys by speedtech. Anyways, i’m sooo excited with the SF club and love to start it ASAP. Sure, i’m more than willing to meet you guys and start spreading the joys of SF.

        Love ur site & ur advocacy on autism! keep it up kittymama!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Party Time With The Sylvanians « Okasaneko Chronicles | facepaint - December 3, 2009

    […] More here: Party Time With The Sylvanians « Okasaneko Chronicles […]

Leave a Reply

