If Friends Were Flowers

6 Jan

Kittymama and J (aka Moodswings) show off their SF!

Just recently, I made the acquaintance of a young woman who shares my interest in Sylvanian Families. It started with a message left on my blog, then e-mail correspondence, then SMS and Facebook (!), and finally, with a meeting just a few days ago.

It always surprises me how friendships develop when and where you least expect it. I’ve been quite lucky in this account. My interests, be it Hello Kitty, or Sylvanian Families, or even just in writing, have led me to discover people I would not have otherwise met in my life. In the process, I have grown from the experience of meeting them, of sharing a part of their life, and of savoring the collective experiences that define a relationship.

J is half my age and yet, we have a lot of things in common. Though we prefer to talk shop — Sylvanian shop, that is, haha — I’ve found that many of her interests also closely hew to mine. She collects SF, she likes arts and crafts, and she blogs! (Visit her at My Sylvanian Collections.) Best of all, I like that she shares her passion for SF with her mom. (Oh, what I would give to have Alex play with me and not set my critters on suicidal missions! Or just to have Alphonse show a smidgen of interest in imaginative play without ripping and chewing on Squirrel Father’s tail.)

So, to J, my new friend and younger sister, thank you for the friendship. I look forward to meeting and making friends with your mom too.

“If friends were flowers, I’d pick you.”

One Response to “If Friends Were Flowers”

  1. Moodswings January 6, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    Thank you din for the friendship, Atchi! We can not wait for our next meet-up! Just by looking at our picture, pwede talaga kita maging Atchi kasi we both have chinky eyes…hehe See you around!

Leave a Reply

