Occupation: POET

7 Jan

Over the holidays,  A and I had a discussion with Alex on his college plans and choices. In six months, our son will start the applications process for college and A and I still did not have a clear idea of what Alex really wants. We both knew he was bent on going to law school. Yet, the mere idea of law school is still five years into the future; between high school and that time is a world of choices.

History and Words — those are his two greatest interests. No surprise then that Alex’s choices are Literature, History, or combining both, Journalism. He says he chooses a path of history and words.

Today, he sends me this via Facebook. I am not a poet, I have to admit, so this blows me away. That Alex could write this at age 16 makes my heart swell with great pride.  One thing for sure, though, whatever “poetry gene” my son possesses was inherited through the Y chromosome.  

 

Paint for me the dying breeze
The colors of the autumn leaves
Of summer’s joy, and winter’s heave
A spring tale for me to weave

Write for me your deep desires
Of consuming flames on a funeral pyre
Of danger true, and darkness dire
Of goodly light on evening’s mire

Play for me a violin’s tune
A requiem that ends too soon
A song of love for maiden’s swoon
A melancholy of blighted moon

Then make for me a fiery blaze
To burn away the honey glaze
Of earthly light to moonly rays
And stop the sighs of wasted days

Thus erased from my sight
The angel’s grace, and demon’s plight
The brightest darkness, and its deepest light
The dark on dark, the shades of night

4 Responses to “Occupation: POET”

  1. denise January 7, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    truly a masterpiece, ms. pinky. your son is indeed a poet. 🙂

    • Kittymama January 7, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

      Thank you, Denise. Hindi sa akin nagmana yan. 🙂

  2. Glenn January 7, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    good luck alex. congratulations pinky and A.

    • Kittymama January 8, 2010 at 10:00 am #

      Naku, Glenn, matagal-tagal pa yang congratulations na yan. I can only heave a sigh of relief once he finishes college, hehe. Thanks for the luck; Alex can certainly make good use of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

