Boys Over Fashion: Ed, Edd n Eddy?

15 Jan

Teenagers have the weirdest fashion sense; I should know, I was one once. In my time, it was the Madonna/Cindy Lauper look that got the most raves, to the dismay of conservative Filipino parents. Big bows, colorful leg warmers (in tropical heat!), cropped pants under short skirts and long shirts under short jackets — these were the trademarks of cool. While my memories of my own fashion faux pas are clear as day, I have no recollection of what hip teenage boys wore at that time. Maybe it was because I was not really too keen on fashion and clothing at that age (okay, okay, I did have my moments) that I got through the eighties unscathed, and thankfully, with no Facebook pictures floating around as remembrances of folly.

Now that I have my own teenage boys, I have remedied my lack of knowledge in men’s fashion by taking a keener interest in it. I do the clothes shopping for the boys in my life so I try to keep updated on what’s in and what’s not. What I’ve found out, however, is that teenagers will always buck the fashion trend, no matter at what age or what time in history. What I don’t understand is why I can’t remember that.

Alex’s current favorite pieces of clothing are his hoodies and his beanie hat. He wears them everywhere. I suppose I should breathe a sigh of relief; they are actually improvements over his trench coat days (he got a black trench coat from Marks & Spencer’s last year and for a time, wore that everywhere too). The weather is still a little cool so he can get away with wearing them everyday and everywhere. I hope that his fascination with beanies and hoodies wanes as summer sets in. I can’t imagine him in them in 100-degree weather but you know teenagers, they will sacrifice comfort  in favor of their own personal tastes.

One more thing I forgot about about teenagers: they are like lemmings*. And because he is the oldest male grandson, all the other boys in the family had to follow him.  See Alphonse (below) trying on his brother’s hoodie and beanie. He actually looks kind of cool. 🙂

Even the baby had to have his picture taken with the hoodie and the beanie. Sese adores “Kya” (what he calls Alex, short for “Kuya” or Big Brother) and likes to follow him around. He didn’t even balk when Kuya put on the sweaty hoodie and stinky beanie on him, heehee.

Boys. I still can’t get what makes them tick.  

* The use of lemmings is a figure of speech. Lemmings have a well-known, albeit mistaken, reputation of performing mass suicides. Being “like lemmings” means going along with popular opinion or trends without question.

5 Responses to “Boys Over Fashion: Ed, Edd n Eddy?”

  1. NinJas! January 15, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    awwww ♥

  2. megamomph January 19, 2010 at 5:24 am #

    Haha Kittymama! I’ll be kind to you on your first claim (the 80s fashion photos). As one of the editors of the HS yearbk, I have incriminating evidence that I will hold on to for ransom, hehehe…

    On the boys like lemmings, totally agree! My MIL gave my son a hideous pair of sneakers. He only agreed to wear these when he was told his dad had a similar pair years ago. Now he’s actually proud of them.

    Gotta say though, that Alex and Alphonse and the baby look cute. You shouldn’t feel too bad about their fashion sense – the hoodies are actually pretty cool these days. 🙂

    • Kittymama January 19, 2010 at 11:53 am #

      Now I know who to run after if ever those pictures come out…. Megamom, you will not dare!!! (*whimpers and begs*)

      I hope your MIL does not get wind of you calling her gift “hideous,” hehe.

  3. Manggy January 19, 2010 at 6:16 am #

    Actually they do look cool. You can’t blame them for wanting to be hip, I guess 🙂 I am glad he’s over his trench coat days. Oddly enough, even though we’re more than a decade apart, I recall wanting one really badly, before deciding that it’s too expensive and not very practical, Ms. Leg Warmers!

    Of course, if I do make it to the States, that’s another story…

    • Kittymama January 19, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

      I finally pried off the hoodie and beanie yesterday long enough to get them washed; I gave Alex a new one so he won’t have to quit his hoodie cold turkey. Yes, you’re right, they do look cool. Even more cool if they smell like fresh laundered clothing and not reek of man-sweat. *eewwww*

      As for the leg warmers, I don’t think I ever had a picture taken wearing them (I hope!) but with Megamom, you never really can be sure, hehe.

Leave a Reply

