HK MAC Fakes

28 Jan

Subtitled  A Fake By Any Other Name Is Still A Fake

I normally don’t like posts like this- the ones that have to tell people that they’re being duped. But as much as I don’t meddle into other people’s affairs, it really bothers me when online sellers pass off their merchandise as real when they are, in fact, not. We’ve all seen this happen in a lot of products over the years, and Hello Kitty is not an exception. The proliferation of fake, low quality products have created a real underground economy that thrives on cheap prices and people desperate for bargains in a time of recession.

I don’t want to go into the morals of patronizing fakes, replicas, and pirated stuff. We get too much of that already from the Optical Media Board, haha. To each his own, I always say, as long as there’s always full disclosure and informed consent. After all, one really gets what one pays for.

Sometimes, however, you have to draw the line when the products in question may endanger the health of individuals. Case in point: Hello Kitty MAC.

They’re all over eBay, that’s for sure. What I didn’t expect was to find them making their way into Multiply as well. I thought that people in my Hello Kitty network were savvier and more vigilant but I obviously thought wrong. Already, last night, I found people leaving messages on a seller’s site ordering full sets of the fake HK MAC make-up which were being sold at original MAC prices. (Shame on you, seller!) Most disturbing was the fact that I did not see any disclosure on the seller’s part that what he/she was selling was fake.

Make-up is a woman’s vanity but it may also prove to be her undoing. Fake make-up can cause skin irritation and allergies, may induce pimples and skin rashes, and may discolor skin permanently. Worse, they may also contain toxic chemicals that can be absorbed through the skin. Some of these substances have been shown to cause cancers in animals in laboratory tests; others have been identified as the culprits in disrupting immunity and/or causing neurological, physical, and reproductive damage. The fact that make-up can get into the bloodstream in so many ways (absorbed by the skin or sensitive mucous membranes of the eyes and the mouth, inadvertently inhaled as powder dust or aerosol particles, licked off the lips and swallowed) makes these fake, synthetic products from unreliable manufacturers a real threat to a woman’s wellbeing.

I left messages on the seller’s site last night, informing the seller that the products are fake. I hope the people who visit her site read my comments and make informed choices based on research. I also took that seller out of my contacts list. No longer will I let that person misinform and mislead my friends.

Knowledge is power, the late Ernie Baron used to always say. I couldn’t agree with him more.

To view pictures of the official Hello Kitty MAC line, visit this site.

8 Responses to “HK MAC Fakes”

  1. Manggy January 28, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    How were you able to tell that the ones on multiply were fake? Is there an easy “tell”?

    • Kittymama January 28, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

      The seller had pictures which I compared with the HK cosmetics I bought from Rustan’s. The blush, for example, had Hello Kitty in relief when the original doesn’t. It also comes in a flip top case with a mirror and brush. Also, the original blush is placed in a recessed container, unlike the copy.

      The fake line also has pencil eyeliners and eye make-up in rectangular eights (as opposed to the original’s circular quads).

      I posted the link for the pictures of the authentic line. I hope people will check them out before making a purchase.Also, if the items are cheap, and they call them goodbye sale/clearance sale items, then they’re not MACs. The ones I saw last night were being sold at the same price as the original ones, which makes the seller’s crime a double whammy- deception and greed.

  2. Kittymama January 28, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    Oops, I forgot to add that HK MAC also did not release lipgloss palettes, just the lipglass in tubes so any lipgloss palette of four or five colors is a fake. 😦

  3. Darla Vidovich February 26, 2010 at 12:54 am #

    I’m so glad to have found your web page. My pal mentioned it to me before, yet never got around to checking it out until now. I must express, I’m floored. I really enjoyed reading through your posts and will absolutely be back to get more.

    • Kittymama March 4, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

      Thank you! Please drop by for a visit again! 🙂

  4. Lamat June 9, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    These products are actually better than the real MAC. A friend of a friend of mine hosted a party that I went to. It was a smashing success and all of us keep buying from her. Products made in other countries also have to pass quality control and laboratory standards. Any make-up (original or not) can cause rash or cancer in the long run. Why buy a cosmetic for 26 dollars or more when you can get it for 10? Wake up and smell the Roses girl!

    • Kittymama June 10, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

      Thank you for voicing out your opinion. As I mentioned in the above post, ” To each his own, I always say, as long as there’s always full disclosure and informed consent.” In this case, there was no full diclosure- these replicase were being passed off as real AND at real MAC prices.

      I have to disagree with you on the issue of safety however. The standards of safety are different for each country. There have been cases of mercury and lead found in cosmetics and these are real health risks. True, any make-up, original or not, may cause adverse reactions but original products have a better reason to adhere to industry standards- they have to protect their name and reputation. I, too, hate shelling out 26 dollars when I can get something for ten but I have to make sure that the quality of that ten dollar-product be as good as the 26-dollar product. Else, I’d rather save longer and get what I want than settle for something less.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Replica Is Just Another Word for FAKE! « Okasaneko Chronicles - August 6, 2012

    […] HK Mac Fakes […]

Leave a Reply

