New Sylvanian Friend

1 Feb

Since I started collecting Sylvanian Families last September, I haven’t really had many opportunities to meet SF collectors in the country. Perhaps SF collectors in this country are a rare breed (this reminds me of a post I read at a local action figure forum: “Gusto niyo ng walang kaagaw na line? …Sylvanian Families) and if they are not, then maybe they don’t like advertising themselves as such, not unlike, say,  Transformers collectors who come in manic droves at events and sales.

As such, when I do meet one, like in the case of my good friend J of My Sylvanian Collections, it’s always a cause for celebration. (I feel like a child anticipating a playdate.) And even if the chances of bumping into a Sylvanian Families collector may be quite small,  I think that when fate decides that your heart is open to welcome new people again, it finds a way to let you know just that.

A few months ago I came across two items on eBay Philippines that were still posted but already reserved to a Ms. Harriet J. That was the first time our paths ever crossed.  Because she won that auction, she was oblivious to my existence until early January when she found her way to my blog. Since I invited her to join our little band of SF sisters, she and I have also started corresponding on the Net and sending occasional text messages.

Alex, A and I were in Shangri-La Plaza last Thursday evening when I received an unexpected message on my phone. It was Harriet, sharing her news of the latest mall updates. A and I were hoping to catch the last few days of a sale to get Alex a dress shirt and  formal pants for the prom. While Alex was doing a jig in the dressing room and entertaining the sales ladies, A was browsing the racks for a dress shirt and I was checking out the pants section.  As it turned out, by a happy coincidence, after a few sent messages, I found out that Harriet was in Shangri-La too. Voila, what started out as prom clothes shopping ended up as a brief Sylvanian Families collectors’ meet.

Kittymama and Harriet

You know how you feel when you meet someone and the connection is instantly there? I think that is how I felt when I met J and Harriet for the first time. When you are at ease, you can’t stop talking; that’s how easy it was making friends with my SF sisters J and Harriet.

I have a few pictures from this totally unplanned meet-up (yes, Kittymama is always prepared for a Kodak moment or two). Harriet is a lovely young mother of two daughters who share her love for Sylvanian Families. I like that she’s starting them young. 🙂 Our SF club is slowly growing. Better yet, we’re building it one friendship at a time.

~0~

P.S. Thank you, Harriet, for the heads up on the new releases. Kittymama  is now playing with her Courtyard Restaurant and her houses are now all equipped with lights! 🙂

5 Responses to “New Sylvanian Friend”

  1. harriet jara February 3, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    hi kittymama,
    thanks for the friendship… always keep in touch…with or without SF..(nah, that’ll never happen!) =)

    harriet

    • Kittymama February 9, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

      My pleasure, Harriet. 🙂 Thank you, too, for the great friendship!

  2. KITkritters February 9, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    Awww… its nice to see those faces i’ve only knew by names.
    Thanks Kittymama for the posts.

    Hi there Harriet, nice to meet you, again.
    Ope next time, ksama na ako (sob!)

    Kit

    • Kittymama February 9, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

      Yeah, Kit, next time, you really have to be there. 🙂 We’re planning the meet before February ends, and I’ll make sure to let you know when.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Bionic Sylvanian (DIY) « Okasaneko Chronicles - March 19, 2010

    […] 19, 2010 by Kittymama The inspiration came from this little keyfob Harriet noticed hanging from my camera […]

Leave a Reply

